Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-13-2012, 10:11 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishfreak1
Guys and gals can it be off or not run for a couple days and then be turned back on?
Yup! I use mine once a week!
__________________

__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:12 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beengirl
The portable one, which it sounds like that's the one you're leaning towards, is just hooked up to faucet, used, and then removed. There's an adapter that you can use to connect.
I use the portable as well. I literally hook it up to a water hose outside.
__________________

__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:23 PM   #23
member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 289
The thing is that my faucet isn't the one that you can unscrew so I don't know how to connect it
__________________
Fishfreak1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:25 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishfreak1
The thing is that my faucet isn't the one that you can unscrew so I don't know how to connect it
None of mine do. That's why I have to use it on the hose outside.
__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:31 PM   #25
member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 289
I'm trying to use the website on my laptop now and it's not working. I may like the products but I hate their website takes like 5 min to load
__________________
Fishfreak1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:44 PM   #26
member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 289
One last question once I have the 100 gallons of water I just mix the salt and wait 2 days then put it in my tank and do I need to add any additives?
__________________
Fishfreak1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:48 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishfreak1
One last question once I have the 100 gallons of water I just mix the salt and wait 2 days then put it in my tank and do I need to add any additives?
Once your water is made, add salt...mix it around and I usually put two powerheads in to keep it circulating. I don't add anything but my friend adds some of the Kordons stuff for the slime coat (i can't remember what all it has in it). You should be good to go. If you are unsure of it, add a little water dechlorinator.
__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:00 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Beengirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,308
Additives are not needed cuz the salt mix will have trace minerals in it. For the initial setting up the tank, you don't really need to wait the 2 days after mixing- you won't have any fish in there for it to harm. You can mix and then put it right in. Or you can mix it in the tank too. But when you have fish in there, for water changes, you will want to mix it in trash can or bucket, put in a heater and a powerhead to mix it up and let sit for at least 24 hours.
__________________
Beengirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:28 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beengirl
Additives are not needed cuz the salt mix will have trace minerals in it. For the initial setting up the tank, you don't really need to wait the 2 days after mixing- you won't have any fish in there for it to harm. You can mix and then put it right in. Or you can mix it in the tank too. But when you have fish in there, for water changes, you will want to mix it in trash can or bucket, put in a heater and a powerhead to mix it up and let sit for at least 24 hours.
Whoops! I forgot about it being a new tank. +1 on above comment and I only use a heater in the winter because I live in Texas. Grrrr...I always forget to add that in my comments unless its cold.
__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 12:21 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
reef lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 99
I use regular 2 stage filter water instead of R O water and been working fine first me past year
__________________

__________________
reef lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tap water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling eco23 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1751 05-31-2012 09:04 PM
water changes Andrew McFadden Cichlid Discussion 34 03-22-2012 12:47 PM
Water question PontiacFan87 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 02-09-2012 04:45 PM
RO/DI question? Squidy07 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 32 01-29-2012 04:20 AM
RO/Di Water Question gerridee Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 09-22-2011 08:41 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.