Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-09-2013, 01:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
TDS at 16ppm. Is that ok?

Wondering if a TDS reading of 16-18ppm is alright. My tap water is absolutely horrid at 560-580ppm.

I just checked my TDS after the membrane but BEFORE the DI. Getting a reading of 36ppm. That works out to a 94-95% rejection considering feed water is going in at 560-580

Now looking at my DI closer, I'd say its close to 80-85% exhausted. I know I'll need to replace it, but am I depleting my DI resin prematurely with my TDS at 36ppm going in to it?

Whats normal. Or is this just "My" normal seeing my feed water is so poor.

I cant see anything else wrong, is 16ppm safe to use?

TIA
__________________

__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 03:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
With a FOWLR you'd probably be OK, but for a reef, 16-18 TDS is not good.

I have 450-500 tap TDS, and my RO is 3-4 TDS before going into the DI canisters. So, yes, 36 TDS will definitely deplete your DI resin quicker. It sounds like you are due for a complete filter change, not just the RO membrane. Before the RO you should have a sediment & carbon cartridge... if you have high chlorine in your water, or you make a lot of RODI, your carbon may be depleted. If this is the case, chlorine may be getting to your RO membrane, which is very bad for it.
__________________

__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 07:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
Hmmmm, I did I complete filter change and membrane before filling my 80gal a month ago. Could I have a bum membrane?
__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 07:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
I should also mention that a have a 5 micron, and 2x carbon filters before the membrane
__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 10:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by arminkropp View Post
Hmmmm, I did I complete filter change and membrane before filling my 80gal a month ago. Could I have a bum membrane?
Certainly a possibility, but rather unlikely....... Where are you buying them from?

Quote:
Originally Posted by arminkropp View Post
I should also mention that a have a 5 micron, and 2x carbon filters before the membrane
Similar set-up to mine.... You're not going to have burnt up 2 carbons in 1 month.


Short of having a bad membrane, it comes down to flow. What system do you have (brand & gpd rating), and do you happen to know what your water pressure is coming into the system?? About the only thing I can currently think of off the top of my head is that if you don't have enough pressure, the membrane isn't getting rinsed/flushed properly.

Also, an improper sized flow restrictor on the waste line can cause problems.

Are you letting the unit run for a few minutes before testing TDS after RO..... When mine first starts, it will read up around 50-75, but work it's way down to 3-4 after a couple/few minutes.
__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 11:28 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
My RO unit is made by Aquasafe. And the filters and membrane kit I bought off Amazon and are purenex Purenex 2C-S-IM100 100 Gpd Purenex Residential 5 Stage Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System Set - Amazon.com

I'm thinking its a crappy membrane ( think it said Hydrotek on it and came with the amazon kit) my last membrane was 5 years old (Applied Membranes Inc.) and even when my DI resin was depleted I still got 3-4ppm TDS.

I'm guessing my flow restrictor should be the right one since my last membrane was 100gpd aswell. Now my decision is do I just get a new QUALITY membrane or a completely new kit? This Spectrapure refurbs are looking pretty good......

I have a storage tank and my reading there is 16ppm. I'll let my water run for a bit and test again straight from the membrane after a couple minutes to see if I still get 36ppm.
__________________

__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« DSB | Tank Update »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.