Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-07-2005, 10:41 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
DI unit burning out quick is something that can he can not make a general statement about.
It all depends on your water... I burn through DI quicker then some other guys i know in my reef club, others go through more then me..
My friend has used the samd DI for over a year now with 0-1 TDS. When using 1 Di I was going through about 1 cartridge every 200 gallons of water made. I run dual Di now and they last a lot longer...
Bottom line is, is your water quality good in the tank? Low nitrate, No phosphates and no nusinance algaes... If these are all good then using a DI may not be needed for you.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 11:09 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, Fla
Posts: 649
Ok so I went to my LFS and got the water tested, My phosphate is way too high at ~2, and my nitrate is fine. So I ordered a DI chamber and cartridge and will buy RO/DI water from the LFS in the meantime.
P.S thank you mts79 for the link.
__________________

__________________
Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.
-anonymous
seafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 03:52 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Quote:
P.S thank you mts79 for the link.
No problem. Buckeyefieldsupply has been nothing but a pleasure to deal with.
Quote:
My phosphate is way too high at ~2,
2, as in 2.0 Meg/l? If so I'm assuming that is tank water (not your fresh RO/SW)...? If not you may very well need 2 DI units to remove it all if that is coming from your tap. FWIW .03meg/l PO4 is considered high/problematic. Best of luck
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 08:39 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, Fla
Posts: 649
Sorry, it was a false return, got it checked at the LFS. It is high but not that high (~0.05).
__________________

__________________
Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.
-anonymous
seafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TDS meter... TDS? stratmaster General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-25-2009 06:29 PM
TDS in....TDS out of RO well water for reef jackdp Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 11-26-2006 10:59 AM
HELP! please respond asap! murcos Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 4 11-09-2005 02:56 PM
Please respond before we make a mistake! Electrobes DIY Projects 5 11-30-2003 12:25 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.