Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-28-2008, 10:37 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
The Barel Problem

Alright everyone if you have read my last thread i have been having problems with amonia in my water change water for my tank. I have checked the water directly out of the RO machine and the reading was 0. So i took some water out of my barel that i mix my salt in down to my LFS and i had amonia. I was told that it may be the Barel that is bleeding amonia into my water. So i mixed some salt in a bucket that i get my Salt mix in and i tested it. I still have Amonia in my water. I have a Seachem test kit with the little yellow discs in it and they turn a very very very dull shade of green when i test my mix water. Could the amonia be comming from the salt mix itself? Also i use prime in my water as well. Could it be comming from the Prime?

I dunno i am so confused i never had these problems when i did fresh water.
__________________

__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 12:55 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Is there anyway you can take a sample to your LFS anf have him double check it. You might have a bad one.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 02:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
Yes i took water out of my barel last night to get checked my LFS and he found amonia in the water so my test kit is working properly. Did you mean i may have a bad bucket of salt or test kit?


Here is another possible reason that i have amonia in my mix water. I have my mix water down in my basement. I also have my dogs kennel down there and my cats litter box. sometimes my dog pees on her blanket in the kennel and also sometimes the litter box smells like amonia when ever we are about to change her litter.

Is it possible that since amonia is a gas that it is getting into my water. The reason that my fresh RO water is not showing amonia is because it has a screw on lid that keeps the air out of the container. My mix buckets have a lid but are slightly open due to the cord from the power head comming out the top of the bucket.

I believe this could be a possible problem
__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 03:13 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianf40us View Post
Did you mean i may have a bad bucket of salt or test kit?

No I was talking about the test kit. I dont know about the scenario you gave. I guess it could be possible. One thing I wanted you to try is to try putting some of your water in 5 gallon buckets and bypass the barrel and see what you get.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 03:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
Yes i have done that i put RO water directly from my RO machine into a container that i use for fresh water to top off my tank. I tested the pure RO water and there was no Amonia. Now that Container i use for the fresh water is a container with a screw on lid that is air tight. I have also put water into an empty salt bucket and added salt to it. It now shows amonia. However that salt bucket has a lid but it is only setting on top the bucket NOT AIR TIGHT.
__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 03:44 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
Do you have a DI cartridge or just an RO unit?

What brand of Salt do you use?

Have you tried another brand of test kit?

Try and buy another batch of salt maybe even a different brand it could even be a small package and mix some with that salt and see if it solves your problem.
__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 04:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
I use Seachem Salt and yes it is a RO DI system. I have a new bucket of salt (seachem) i bought a couple of weeks ago so what i did was mad 2 seperate cups of salt water one with the old salt mix in it and the other with the new im going to test to see if there is a difference.


Has anyone herd of Salt mix leaking amonia into the water?
What you guys think about the litter being the problem?
__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 04:50 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
And i took a sample of water to my LFS and they found amonia in it as well so i dont think its the test kit.
__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 07:02 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
Well i just tested both water with the old salt in it and water with the new salt in it. They are both showing amonia so the only place i could be getting amonia from is the salt itself. It is Seachem Salt which i believe is hard to believe but that is the only possible answer to this problem.

What you guys and gals think? Have you ever heard of this and is it even possible?

My LFS said they will be looking into it with Seachem.
__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 08:03 PM   #10
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
It`s possible. Can you get some of another brand to sample and see?
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new problem help please aqua man Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 10-20-2008 05:56 PM
A serious problem Smidge Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 27 01-26-2007 12:18 AM
PH and KH problem Hyrules Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 29 02-14-2006 04:49 PM
problem? or not a problem? that is the question sirfishmaster Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 03-30-2005 12:19 AM
ph problem tommo Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 4 10-23-2003 05:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.