Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-02-2005, 01:26 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 114
the next step.. substrate..

yeah i few more easy questions for you..

my 25g is clean. and empty.

coral sand. ?

i got a 10kg bag and i think it's ready to go into the tank, unless i need to wash it 1st.

keep in mind i wont be adding live rock, filtration or a skimmer for a while.

it'll just be the substrate, salted water and light.

should i wash the substrate? or not ?
__________________

__________________
Stuquarium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 02:22 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
It is a topic of debate on this forum. Ideally you should not rinse the substrate. The finer dust particles will have greater surface area for bacteria coverage. This will help in the biological filtration. The idea behind rinsing is to cut down on cloudiness after initial setup. It is not a major concern for me and will settle out on its own but that is your choice.
__________________

__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 02:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 114
excellent. as i wont have anything live in it for a few weeks i wont rinse it

cheers
__________________
Stuquarium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 09:33 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 285
I agree with RMPD, as long as there are no fish I would not rinse the substrate. If you did have fish I would rinse it just to be on the safe side.
__________________
-Brandon-
BDAWG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Step-by-Step photo guide for treatment of Starfish Necrosis zrenegade Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 15 06-04-2007 07:51 PM
tank just arrived....looking for a step by step setup. crispo069 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 03-21-2007 12:29 AM
Found step by step instructions on a very cool pond SquishyFish Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 6 02-28-2004 10:20 AM
Resources for step-by-step process for fishless cycle yamix Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 08-14-2003 11:28 PM
step by step marine tank...too easy? shawmutt Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 07-30-2003 04:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.