The temptation is real-a 29 gallon for $80?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sinibotia

Aquarium Advice Addict
Well, I was checking craigslist for free fish and came across an ad for a saltwater tank setup with heater, HOB filter, stand, hood, light, aerator, thermometer, and live sand for $80.

I've been keeping fish for 11 years, and I've always wanted to do saltwater but never had the money. I've done plenty of research. I know I would need an RO system or distilled water, marine salt mix, live rock, and... maybe a protein skimmer? Saltwater test kits, etc.

I'm not looking for corals, just a FOWLR. Probably just a pair of clownfish or a few small peaceful fish. For those of you with a similar setup, I have some questions.
First, what's the water cost from doing water changes, and how many and how often do you do them?
Second, I've been reading that in smaller tanks, protein skimmers are optional. Would you agree with this, and if so, what's the "catch"?
Third, would live sand potentially make up for a lack of live rock? Or would I still at least need to buy some "dead" rock to be seeded?
Finally, what's your average time commitment to the tank? Is it around the same as a similar-sized freshwater tank or is it significantly more?

Overall, is this a deal you would take? I'm really tempted, and even if I don't get it for saltwater I'm very likely to buy it and convert it to freshwater. But I've never quite had a chance like this to try a saltwater aquarium.