Thinking about starting a reef tank again

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chris-Nicol

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey guys. I have been out the game for a few years now. I had a reef aquarium before but ended up selling it as I moved house.

I was in a garden centre a couple of weeks ago was looking at all their aquariums. I have defiantly got the bug back as I haven't been able to stop thinking about getting a tank!

The thing is this time I want to do it right! When I started up before it was my friend giving me the advice. It was until later that I found out I had basically done everything wrong!! From getting sea from the harbour to cycling my tank with fish! I started to research a lot more because as you can imagine I had a LOT of problems! That's why I sold up and decided that I would start again but do it right from the get go! Obviously I am no expert so just wanted some advice on equipment and cycling etc.

The tank I am looking is 365 litre system (300l tank with 65l sump) which is about 95gal I think.

2x hydra 26hd lighting units

TMC reef skim 500 dc protein skimmer

Fluval sea marine sump pump sp4 (1822 GPH)

Hydor koralia generation 3 5000 circulation pump

2x jäger 300w heaters

My questions are:

1) is this equipment good/sufficient for a reef tank?

2) I know this is an expensive hobby bout could I save money by getting other equipment that is good/reliable but not as expensive?

3) i have read that live sand is a waste of time. Is this the case? Is there a way to calculate how much sand I will need? (Also depth of sand recommendations)

4) I probably will be moving house again in about 5 years. Is it easy enough to move a tank? I don't think I can hold off another 5 years to get a tank.

Any help would be appreciated
Thanks

All of that equipment should be just fine.