Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 03-26-2004, 01:01 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
Thinking of getting into Saltwater Aquariums....

and wondering what suggestions anyone has on starting out. Roughly how much would you be looking at putting aside for a saltwater aquarium, starting from scratch! Any ideas or suggestions on tank sizes and possibly cost saving ideas would be great. I really want to do the research before diving in, not going to do this on an inpusle.

One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish!!!
puffergirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2004, 01:10 AM   #2
Do you want this tank to be Fish Only or Reef? Plus what kind of fish were you looking into?
Old 03-26-2004, 10:28 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

I'm fairly new at this and have found this forum really helpful. I'd continue searching/browsing the Getting Started forum. As gotz_potential mentioned, a big question is to decide fish only (FO), fish only with live rock (FOWLR), or reef. That decision controls much of the cost. For size, bigger is better. I've seen at least 30, 45, or 55 gal recommended. I'd start there, and then come back with more questions. One thing is for sure, the people here are ready to help with good, friendly advice.

Good luck,

45 gal AGA
Sand substrate
304 Fluval
2 Maxijet 900 PHs
60# LR
1 Blue Damsel
1 Yellow Tail Damsel
2 Percula Clown
1 Yellow Tang (Small)
1 Peppermint Shrimp
3 Astrea, 3 Cerith, and Unknown Nassarius (LR hitch hikers Snails
jvennitti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2004, 10:36 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
Buy this book,The Conscientious Marine Aquarist
by Robert M. Fenner, Christopher Turk

Read it and then read it again.

Good Luck