Thinking of getting into Saltwater Aquariums....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

puffergirl

Aquarium Advice Freak
and wondering what suggestions anyone has on starting out. Roughly how much would you be looking at putting aside for a saltwater aquarium, starting from scratch! Any ideas or suggestions on tank sizes and possibly cost saving ideas would be great. I really want to do the research before diving in, not going to do this on an inpusle.

Do you want this tank to be Fish Only or Reef? Plus what kind of fish were you looking into?

puffergirl,

I'm fairly new at this and have found this forum really helpful. I'd continue searching/browsing the Getting Started forum. As gotz_potential mentioned, a big question is to decide fish only (FO), fish only with live rock (FOWLR), or reef. That decision controls much of the cost. For size, bigger is better. I've seen at least 30, 45, or 55 gal recommended. I'd start there, and then come back with more questions. One thing is for sure, the people here are ready to help with good, friendly advice. :D

Good luck,

Jeff

Buy this book,The Conscientious Marine Aquarist
by Robert M. Fenner, Christopher Turk

Read it and then read it again.

Good Luck

I have 4 SW now, some are cheaper than others, but I will list what I have in my "first" SW tank which is a 55 and has no sump or fuge. Prices include shipping, all are from memory :roll:

Used 55 with oak stand $200
Remora skimmer $160
CSL power compact lites 96x4 $270
aragonite substrate $40
65lbs LR (still not enough) $300
WON heater $45
mechanical filter (hob) $45
misc salt and additives and etc $50 and then $20/mo thereafter
maxijet powerheads x2 $45
misc mushrooms and corals $165
refractometer $50
test kits basic $50