this is what i got, what do i need?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mr funktastic

Aquarium Advice Addict
ok i have a penguin 125b filter and a 100 watt heater and i was looking at setting up a 10 or 15 gallon tank. i was talking to the lfs which happens to be big als for me and they said that all i need is the tank and light. now i was gonna make my own light which would be a triple 18" t8 light strip becasue i want to grow some corals. i have no knowledge of keeping saltwater but i do know that bigger is better but unfortunatly i cant afford bigger. i dont mind the maintence that it involves because i keep all live planted tanks which is more work than saltwater lol. so what do i need besides the filter, heater, lights and tank? will i need a powerhead or will the biowheel filter move the water enough? thanks in advance.
ps i am sure this has been asked a million times but when u search for a thread it comes up with wayyyyy to many posts.

You need 15-20 times your tank in flow for corals. (150-200GPH for a 10 gal etc.) Mechanical filtration is not as good as LR in SW. A 2nd heater is a good idea for redundancy. Do not forget test kits, and a hydrometer or refractometer. You will need NH3, NO2, NO3, Alk, PH, CA test kits to start with. They make marine basic kits that have all those included.