Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-06-2003, 01:36 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 410
This is wrong right??????

uhhh I hope yinz dont' hate me but afrer about 5 days I am confused. I have a reading of zero on nitrites adn ammonia but it has only been 6 days I am screwing something up right??? Theere is no way it cycled in a week is there??

Thanks

Doan
__________________

__________________
Doan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 03:32 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 2,725
Are there fish in the tank? Give us an idea of your setup and we can help you better.
__________________

RogerMcAllen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 03:34 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: California
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to Tierhog
extremely unlikely. If you need help with cycling your tank, give details
1. Size
2. substrate type
3. LR?
4. Fish currently in tank
5. Filtration?
6. water changes?
Give details Doan....thanks!
__________________
o||||o Jeep, the only true 4x4.
Tierhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 04:08 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,891
Hi again Doan,
You're still cycling your LR, right? Was it pre-cured or not when you got it? If it was pre-cured, it may be all cycled by now, but it's still kind of soon.

You said you're using treated tap water also, right? How are you treating the tap water? Does your salt mix have a dechlorinator added or are you using something else? I use Novaqua in my tap water (for my FW tank) but if you use something like Amquel, an ammonia reducer, it messes up the FW cycle. It may also mess up the SW cycle, but I'm not really sure. It also might not hurt to do tests on your tap water. If you use a dechlorinator only, and then test the parameters, and you get a little bit of ammonia, then your tap water has chloramines. A product like Amquel will remove them, but may interfere with the bacteria in the cycle. Also, what test kit are you using? Some test kits measure free ammonia vs total ammonia. If you use Amquel, you have to use a kit that reads total ammonia. If you use a test kit measuring free ammonia, you may get a 0 reading, since that type of test doesn't measure the ammonia bound up by the Amquel. Hope these very late night ramblings help somewhat.

ps. "Yinz!"
__________________
An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 08:48 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 115
if you had "pre-cured" (which in general i think is a method to make you pay a little more for nothing) it is possible you could have cycled. But your tank is still very new and will take up to a year to truly become stable. That doesnt mean dont add anything for a year, but go slow- patience will be rewarded in the long run
__________________
jks1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 09:34 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 410
Ok you guys thank you for the help sorry for the confusion lets call it 5.5 days Ok I am using novaqua conditioner as for test kits well the ammonia is tetra test and the nitrite is uhhhh aquarium pharmceuticals( which I like much better by the way) Lets see. Uhhhh 55 gallon 50 lbs live rock put in monday... coralife aqualight 48" 2 powerheads as well and a fluval 404... gosh I hope that is the info you are looking for...The readings are down from thursday when the ammonia was .25 and so were the nitrites... do I need to recycle what is going on???
__________________
Doan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 10:12 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
The live rock. Was it precured? Did you get it from a LFS that has had the rock in a curing tank for a while or did you get it from another hobbiest. I recall from a previous post that you had to drive it a couple hours so im ruling out that you mailordred it.

If the rock was precured then this is very plausable that your cycle is over.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 05:21 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 410
It was from a huge and I mean Huge fish store in Pittsburgh and it was in a big tank.. It said cured..and then the lady dug through with me and we picked out pieces.. You know what it dosen't matter as long as you guys think nothing is wrong. They said 2 weeks maybe it only took one but I am gonna just keep checking it for at least a week.. Like I have said before I don't wanna kill anything. Really all I want to put in there is cleaning crew so that there is something going on over the holidays while I am gone..

Thanks

Doan
__________________
Doan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 05:53 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 852
Send a message via MSN to sumphead
Hey Doaner, I think you got some partially cured rock that just had some die-off to cycle through. It is not uncommon for cured or precured rock to have a short ammonia spike/cycle. I would still just wait a few more days testing everyday and perhaps another water change after the few days of testing and a cleanup crew should be fine.

R-

Hehehe he said "yinz". *heheh*
__________________
I wish I had a nickel for every miracle that you easily tricked me into. -Chris Robinson
sumphead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 05:57 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Smonkey15 Send a message via MSN to Smonkey15
what is yinz anyways
__________________

__________________
-Steve-

Figuring out how to keep my fish healthy is like the pethagorean theorem; there is no solution.
Smonkey15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What am I doing wrong? yohann976 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 08-12-2008 01:45 AM
SO WRONG..!!! ....? EdgarMedina1010 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 06-18-2006 09:59 PM
What am i doing wrong? Joey17 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 09-10-2005 04:41 PM
ok, what am I doing wrong? Meredith Forum Admin & Announcements 8 01-09-2005 04:19 PM
Did I do something wrong rdefino Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 11-01-2004 12:07 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.