Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-07-2003, 10:37 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to toddwess
Excellent point. Thanks for double-checking the diagram. I can see now that it would totally not work where it is!

Thanks,
Todd
__________________

__________________
toddwess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 10:40 PM   #22
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Todd,
Here's my two cents as well. I agree...you don't need the wet/dry. Filtration in a reef tank has a different definition than what we're used to in FW tanks. The LR is the filter. The skimmer takes out a lot of the gunk that would otherwise break down into nitrates. One reason for have good flow through the sump is to make sure the skimmer gets plenty of water to skim. Basically, and this is kinda oversimplified I guess, the stuff the skimmer pulls out is what you're used to seeing on your diryt filter cartridges in a FW tank. I would go with the largest sump that you can fit in the space you have...within reason of course. I would also plan to have partitions in the sump for several reasons. One: You want to maintain a constant water level for the skimmer to operate in. Although some of the larger skimmers are not affected by the water level as much, most of them need a fairly constant water level to maintain their adjustment. Two: Bubble control...you're going to have a lot of water flowing through the sump. Cascading water = bubbles and you don't want those bubbles pumped back up into the main tank. Partitions in the sump that force the water to flow over and under them will cut down on the bubbles a lot. Three: If you have room in the sump, at some point, you can have a refugium in there. The sump isn't the ideal place for a fuge, but it will certainly work. Four: Partitioned chambers make great places for GAC and/or other adsorptive media.
The larger sump will also give your system a little more stability due to the increased water volume. This doesn't mean you can add more fish though...keep the bioload right for the 90 gal tank capacity. It's also a pain to have all your equipment crammed together. Using a big container for a sump will allow you to spread things out a little which will make maintenance easier. Last, for a return pump, I would suggest one of the external models. They are usually stronger and have air cooled motors so they don't add as much heat to your water. I like the Blueline pumps although Little Giant and Iwaki also make very good pumps. Most of them are rated at 3-4' of head too.
__________________

__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 10:55 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to toddwess
Loganj - Excellent information! I now have a really good feeling on why a large sump is a benefit (as opposed to a 5 gal bucket)!

I'm planning on a 90 gallon tank with 170 lbs (4 inches) of live sand and 140 lbs of live rock.

I should be good with that, right?

Todd
__________________
toddwess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 11:45 PM   #24
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I think that should work. You could even have more rock and another inch of sand if you wanted to.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 12:06 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 284
Todd, I see your in Virginia. Are you in the Richmond area??
__________________
cal91666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 02:04 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to toddwess
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal91666
Todd, I see your in Virginia. Are you in the Richmond area??
I'm just outside of DC in Alexandria by the Woodrow Wilson Bridge. About 90 miles from Richmond.

Todd
__________________

__________________
toddwess is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
90 gallon, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts/musings on my 55 gal setup and fishless cycling laxpatrick Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 37 02-19-2009 11:46 AM
Thoughts on 55 gallon kits... dhawkercp Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 02-04-2009 01:42 AM
Need your thoughts on resealing 55 gallon please! severum mama DIY Projects 12 01-02-2007 04:15 AM
Thoughts needed on new QT setup. reefbound Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 01-21-2006 10:33 AM
Any Thoughts on this setup: Cunch Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 02-27-2004 07:50 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.