Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-23-2007, 11:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
to cycle my tank...

Is it ok to just use tapwater to cycle then use ro when I am ready to stock??
__________________

__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 12:08 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
I used tapwater to get started and I had and am still battling a hair algae problem the Ro/DI water has helped to reduce the problem. There are a trace amount of nitrates in my tap water among many other things. Add some decent lighting to that and it is a recipe for algae growth.
__________________

__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 12:36 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Guess thats a good reason not to use tap Thanks
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 01:01 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 60
yeah, i would not use tap water even to cycle. it will take a lot water changes to get all of the nutrients in the tap water out of the system. the city that i live in has some of the best tap water in the country and i still NEVER use it in my system.

just my $.02 but i hope it helps
lReef lKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 01:17 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Ya I appriciate it
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 09:54 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I work for the county water system and we add ammonia, Phosphates and nitrates to the water. It is an aquarist nightmare.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 11:22 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 60
what do you do for them melosu ?? i have even heard of them adding arsenic to drinking water in some areas.
lReef lKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 02:01 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Never drinking tap water again... lol.
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 05:09 AM   #9
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
RO/DI unit all the way.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:14 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree, RO/DI is the way to go. I am even on well water and still use my RO/DI.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting a second tank. Speed up cycle w/ first tank water? turbovr6 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 11-28-2007 12:11 PM
New Tank Instantly at CYCLE level equal to other tank SKEET Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-09-2006 10:12 PM
Cycle-- How do YOU Cycle your tank? DragonFish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 01-02-2006 12:02 AM
New tank: jump start cycle with bio wheel in existing tank? twestrope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 11-02-2005 04:54 PM
To cycle or not to cycle.... (2-gallon tank) fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-17-2004 01:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.