Tom's 55G Saltwater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I do clean my canister every week with my PWC. Only takes about 10 min and my waters fine, corals are doing well and growing. It's not a big deal IMO to clean it weekly.

I noticed the aquaclear is a HOB filter and it's buy in now for 70$ on ebay. I am going to petco on friday to see if they have it cheaper or if its 5-10 bucks more ill just buy it to have it that day. Is this a good price. It states
AquaClear 110/500 Aquarium Power Filter Aqua Clear A620

I am not familiar with canister filters so I would feel more comfortable going this route if its a HOB filter. No offense beengirl! Thanks for the help so far. Next I am looking into lighting. I currently have 2 hoods that I can put lights in but its only 1 bulb per side of the tank ( 2 bulbs total 1 on each side) any ideas?

I'm new to salt as well. I set up a 55 about a month ago from spare parts I had from a freshwater tank I had years ago.

As far as filters I run 2 merineland 350 HOB filters. One with regular filter cartridges and the other I filled with live rock rubble. They are relatively inexpensive (buy online it's cheaper).

Heater: I think mine is a fluval 200 watt. It's rated for up to 65 gallons. Again not very expensive online.

I bought 50 lbs of dry rock from reefrock.net it was a very good price and you get 40lbs of sand free. Great quality as well (IMO). I seeded with 5lbs of live rock from LFS and some reef starter. I added another 15lbs of sand to give me about a 2" base.

I didn't use ammonia or raw shrimp. Just let it stabilize for about a week the added 2 yellow tail damsels to get things going.