Tom's 55G Saltwater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TommyP

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey all.

I am quite new in the fish hobby. I have a 29G FW tank thats been running great & currently I have a 10 gallon salt water tank that has about 20 lbs of live rock, some frags on them, a smaller rock that has mushrooms, an anenome ( XL in size ) since I was planning on doing this 55 a SW and 1 clown fish. I have 3 snails, 1 emerald crab, and 1 peppermint shrimp. I recently added a sand sifting sea star as well. He's interesting always digging and climbing up the walls.

Got a good deal( I thought) on Craigslist for a 55G tank w. stand. It has the hood with 2 lights (one for each side of tank) only 1 bulb works for now but its very dim. He also gave me a 7-8'' bubble wand and an air pump ( 2 outlets) all for $100. I have a picture on my phone ill post up later.

This is going to be some sort of a slow build, putting everything together but that gives the tank plenty of time to cycle and make sure everything gets done properly the first time, unlike my other tanks.

I am on a very strict budget. The tank did not come with a filter. I have heard great things about HOB filters, and this is what I am used to having so I want to go that route. Very easy to clean and they are quiet. I would assume doing 2 filters (1 on each side of the tank, the cut outs in top hood are already open for it). Any one know what type of HOB filter(s) I can get at a good price? Or is anyone on Long Island need to get rid of one?

As far as a heater goes, what watt heater do I need for the 55G tank? 1 or 2?