Tonys 75gl Reef Build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mr. D

Aquarium Advice FINatic
After months of waiting to put together my tank it is finally starting to happen.

I'm waiting on my stand again b/c my Lfs got it cracked but I bought a lot of the stuff today, 1of my Lfs matches prices from online.. Any additions/suggestions?

I got:
Aqueon proflex 4
Coralife cone skimmer 150gl
Aqueon pump, 735gph
And a 60lb box of IO salt

I'm going to be picking up some rock soon also

I have not picked up power heads yet and was planning on korallia evolutions... What size would I need l? I was thinking two 1050's...... I will be keeping a majority of SPS, a clam, 2-3 LPS, and maybe an anemone.

Lighting will probably be the reef bright LED b/c all I want is on/off only.

I will be waiting a bit for the corals as well b/c I am brand new to salt water

You should also hold off on the clam and anemone until the tank is at least 6-8 months old, If not longer.

Yeah, I planned on waiting a while and the clam would probably be last anyway since they are supposed to be the toughest

And would a dwarf lion or larger lion be reef safe?... By that I mean won't eat corals or harm them? Don't really care about keeping shrimp

I am going to be setting up my tank I the next 2weeks to start the cycle... I herd miracle mud is almost a must with mangroves in the fuge and it has to be in there before I start the cycle right???

I am going to try to get live rock that has just been sitting in a guys tank for about 4months in his water that is just still b/c he is selling the tank also and is proving no leaks... Should I watch out for problems with the rock?? I assume it is just dry rock that is in water? Lol

image-1740904138.jpg

This will probably be the longest build ever, lol

Write a review for the Proflex. The model 4 is very expensive IMO.