Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-04-2009, 02:50 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
Tool for manual removal of algae

I am currently fighting an algae problem that I consider massive but others would consider moderate. It is in my sand bed. what do I use to manually remove the algae from the sand bed. A vacuum doesn't seem to do a good enough job and a turkey baster gets clogged with sand quickly. I know the problem and it has been corrected but I will not allow my tank to look bad for even a day.

SG 1.024
PH 8.3
NH4 0
N-ITE 0
N-ATE <5
PHOS 0 (now)

Since I have corrected the phosphate and overfeeding problem how long should it take until I see the red and green algae go away.

BTW - I now see how 0 nitrates is possible
__________________

__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 03:18 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
mermaid8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The big O.C. Oregon
Posts: 59
I have one of magnets that you can get from the pet store. mine is called the maga float but there are other brands nextag.com have them for 7.99 to 10.99.cleaner. i relly like mine. i hope this helped.
__________________

__________________
mermaid8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 03:28 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 21
Personally I just rake my sand bed, it doesn't get rid of it but it makes it look loads better
__________________
godslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 04:35 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
NH4 is Ammonium. Do you mean ammonia, NH?
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 07:16 AM   #5
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Many test kits provide NH3/4 results as well as solely NH3. It's what allows you to get an accurate reading even though you are using a product like Prime. Free vs ionized, toxic vs not.

What's NH?
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 11:49 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I think he just forgot the "3".
I would look at getting some sand sifting inverts like nassarius snails. The bacteria (cyano) and algae should burn off if the excess nutrient problem is resolved in a day to a few days.
I have not had success with additional water flow to the area once the cyano had taken hold, but once I got rid of mine, I did add additional flow to alleviate the dead spots and that helped.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 12:01 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdaniel2882 View Post
...what do I use to manually remove the algae from the sand bed. A vacuum doesn't seem to do a good enough job and a turkey baster gets clogged with sand quickly. ...
I'm guessing you're talking about cyanobacteria in your sand bed? If so, just use a siphon hose and siphon the cyano out, along with the sand around it. Only way to get it out is to take some sand with it.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 02:15 PM   #8
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Well actually, i have found that you could use something like a fish net.. or something with holes that are fine enough to let sand through, but nothing else. This is what i used to get alot of junk out of my tank. I just skimmed the sand with a fish net and absolutely everything that wasn't sand, got caught in the net. You could try this..?
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, tool, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hair algae removal... Oceanicsublimat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-20-2009 04:42 PM
Bubble algae removal??????? weemanpow3 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 01-31-2007 12:40 AM
Hair Algae Removal GSXRDan Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 1 03-24-2005 10:21 PM
bubble algae removal - am I ok now donf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 02-25-2005 05:03 PM
Algae Removal Solution. rvijay07 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 07-25-2003 10:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.