Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-04-2006, 10:59 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 133
Top-Off System - Backup question

I am getting ready to fire the bullet on a topoff system from autotopoff.com.

I am planning on plumbing the system directly to my RO/DI system. My concern is I would like to build in some redundancy for safety reasons.

I was planning on purchasing a dual switch (one low leve/one high level) (for sump) as well as dual solenoids. My question is this, can the second high level switch be used with an solenoid? Is this step unnecessary with the use of dual solenoids?
__________________

__________________
Serpentman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 12:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ.
Posts: 98
If you are using the autotopoff system, the dual switch plugs into the solenoids. Meaning both are connected to the solenoids. I'm loving mine.
__________________

__________________
I have an Oceanic 75g RR tank, MegaFlow sump, ASM G2 Skimmer, stand, canopy, and 60lbs of base rock.

Someday I'll add fishies.
elzool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 01:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 133
I think I figured it out. The top switch is reverse wired so it defaults with power "on". When the water hits it, it switches off.

Thanks again.
__________________
Serpentman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 01:47 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Check out the JBJ ATO before you decide. It has two floats that can be used in 3 different set-ups. I'm using it now and it works beautifully for me. Although I'm only running FW from a holding tank under my stand into the sump/fuge right next to it.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 01:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Here is how I did it at home.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=58122

HTH

8)
__________________
Serge

Vote Here for Aquarium Advice
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 03:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsdad
Check out the JBJ ATO before you decide.
I am very intrigued. I really like the timed shut-off protection feature. Although I can't see why it would be any different than a pump, do you know if this unit will work with a solenoid hooked to a direct line from the RO/DI unit?

Let me run this by you. I have a separate fuge that I was planning on incorporated some fail-safe mechansim (float switch) in the event the siphon is broken back to the sump. I wonder if I could use the second sensor (which wouldn't be needed with a direct connect) to monitor my fuge levels?

I really like your setup Serge. Although I admit, I would be very intimidated wiring my own switches.
__________________
Serpentman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 03:43 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Now you're getting too technical for me. I have no idea how to answer that one.

One sensor is in my fugve/sump. Once it drops about an inch, an Maxijet 1200 pumps water to get that inch back. I have a flex hose coming from the MJ1200, then hard piped and elbow. Then, I have a larger (than the elbow) tibe going straight down into the sump/fuge below the water line. That way I get no noise and with the larger vertical hose, there is a siphon break. The second float switch is in the FW reservoir to prevent the supply pump from truning on if the water level gets too low. HTH.

Lemme know if you'd like pics. I can get'm by later this evening.
__________________
austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 05:59 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 133
If its not too much trouble, pics would help. Unfortunately, there is no room under my tank for a reservoir so I will have to plumb it from my RO with a solenoid. I think it should work.
__________________
Serpentman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 07:29 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ.
Posts: 98
It should work just fine from the ro unit. I have my autotopoff device on this timer from intermatic.
I've got it set to only come on once a day for an hour.

So far, so good.
__________________
I have an Oceanic 75g RR tank, MegaFlow sump, ASM G2 Skimmer, stand, canopy, and 60lbs of base rock.

Someday I'll add fishies.
elzool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 08:09 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
3 shots. First the down hookup into the sump/fuge With the oversized vertical hose , then the junction between flex and pvc. Finally, the reservoir with the flex hose and sensor (grey thingy, lower left. In the first pic, you'll also see the sensor.

Hope that helps.
__________________

__________________
austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPS battery backup question happygirl65 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 06-29-2011 08:34 AM
Auto top off system drillsar Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 05-22-2006 04:01 AM
Top off system recommendation? austinsdad General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 04-04-2006 11:40 AM
Question about auto top off system Brisc0 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 03-11-2004 03:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.