Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-02-2011, 10:33 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 3,287
Go with an auto top off. I do cover one of my tanks but it because the fish might want to go tile surfing. I have this one on my 55 AutoTopoff.com (it came used with the used tank setup). I have another from a forum it is a no name brand it doesn't work as good it is reliable just more touchy. I have one in the mail from another forum I hope it works on my JBJ but it it doesn't I know someone that will want it for a tank with a sump. Here is more of a kit version auto top-off components I was considering one if I didn't find a good buy on a used one. I have a spare maxi jet I was going to use for the pump. The JBJ is suppose to be an excellent buy for the price and I missed getting a used one really cheap from a forum.

I have aqualifters for pumps on both of mine and the one coming has one. I have read mixed reviews on them but so far they have worked fine.
__________________

__________________
joy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 10:50 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jabibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 282
I got my auto top off at marine depot. Just be careful when u install it because if the top off hose is unfer water when the pump turns off it will start to back syphon all the water. I run mine in my sump and i have a 5 gallon bucket under the tank that is my resevior. It is a great system to have if u dont want to get an RODI
__________________

__________________
Jabibi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 11:23 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
YouTube - How to Set Up a JBJ Auto Top-Off System

I have a DIY siphon-based ATO with a float and redundant float in case the main float fails. It works for me, but not sure where you can get it.

The JBJ looks good. If I needed to buy one instead of getting one with the tank setup i bought, I'd probably look into JBJ
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 12:16 PM   #14
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
autotopoff.com
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 01:49 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California
Posts: 109
Just to add to what others are saying, I'd also make sure you get the PVC cover over the float switch. Autotopoff.com has them. It eliminates turbulence and the switch from bobbing up and down. It also protects from snails jamming your switch open or closed.

I've used aqualifter pumps and don't recommend them. My issue with them was inconsistency and very poor head loss performance. I suggest saving and buying the peristaltic style pump that will last years and perform consistently.
__________________
Michael
My 90 Gallon Mixed Reef
177ichael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:04 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabibi View Post
It is a great system to have if u dont want to get an RODI
how does this replace a R.O.D.I. unit?
reverse osmosis units clean the water. they don't keep the tank full. you still need to implement an auto top off in order to keep the tank full.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:36 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jabibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 282
I meant that if u dont want to tap into your plumbing to use an RODI then u can use an ato instead. You use a totally different float valve system with a an RODI. They are two totally different things. For me the plumbing in my house is to far from the tank so i use an ato instead of an rodi but the water in my resevoir is from an rodi. The water is cleaned the same way.
__________________
Jabibi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:41 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
I have my RO/DI unit in the garage and use my garden hose. I have tapped into pipes before and there's no going back if something messes up.
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 02:55 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ABQ, New Mexico
Posts: 141
Iv heard about that pvc cover and snails making the ATO go off.... they must be sensitive?? So do I need a pump to run waTer from resivor to sump?
__________________
JASONinNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 09:47 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
yes. if the R.O. tank is right next to the sump, you can use a maxijet. i use a MJ1200 for this purpose.
btw, i don't know why someone would want to put snails in the sump. it makes no sense at all. if it's a simple sump without a refugium, then just shield it from light and there will be no algae growth. if it contains a refugium, you aren't supposed to have anything in it that eats algae anyway.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto Top Offs Bigguy6121 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 10-18-2010 02:37 PM
How often do you do your RO/DI top-offs???? Heineken General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 12-08-2004 12:34 PM
Quick question re. top-offs MarkW19 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 10-26-2004 04:05 PM
Water top offs? Habitat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 04-22-2004 10:52 AM
Water top offs cathyjane Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-10-2004 02:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.