Total newbie with my first question of many!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ocicat

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm brand new to this forum and to saltwater aquariums in general. I don't even have a tank yet, in fact. I spent years with a freshwater aquarium, and I learned the hard way how fragile that was; my impression has always been that a SW tank is even more of a balancing act, so I'm researching it before diving in head first.

During a recent visit to a local saltwater fish store, I received some advice that sounded good and sincere, although now I'm questioning it, not only because I've seen many disparaging remarks here about the advice from fish stores, but also because the guy gave me the impression that it isn't really all that complicated to run a SW aquarium... An idea that I suspected was wrong, and which has quickly been totally negated when I started reading all this talk of phosphates and nitrates and cycling and special (distilled?) water and special lighting and on and on... Anyhow, he told me about live rock and said that I would need it to start the aquarium.

In discussions on live rock here, I have seen mention of the creatures that come along with the live rock. Some of the questions have centered around whether certain creatures are desirable for whatever you intend for your particular tank. So my question (finally) is: What do you do if your live rock brings in an animal that won't work with the intended tank? Is there a kinder option than killing it? What if my live rock brings in little starfish that won't work with coral, and I have my heart set on coral?

I don't even kill bugs. (Ok, except for roaches and centipedes... But everyone else just gets gently relocated outdoors. ; ) )

Thanks for any advice... I imagine I will have countless questions for you all as I get started.