Total newby- thinking about a 55g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

marie74

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a 37g FW community tank.. basic stuff- guppies, tetras, etc.

I am thinking about getting a 55g and setting it up as a SW FOWLR.
The guy at the LFS said that you don't need a lot of fancy equipment for a 55, if you are not doing corals. He said it is basically like a FW except with an extra test for salinity.. keeping the salt levels correct. He said I could keep a pr of clowns and a few chromis and some clean up crew in a 55 no problem.

so... is this true? am I getting in over my head? I keep seeing protien skimmers, frags, refugium, sump, etc.. and I have to admit it is all greek to me.

99% of the time I wouldn't trust a lfs employee but surprisingly this time he was pretty spot on. Getting into sw can be overwhelming at first with all the extra equipment but almost all of it is geared towards reefing not necessarily just a fish tank. honestly the only difference between a FW tank and a SW fowlr is you'll want more flow which is accomplished with circulation pumps, you need to get a hydrometer or refractometer (get the refractometer) to test salinity, your nitrates need to stay a bit lower then in FW (10ppm-), and lastly which isn't an absolute must but highly reccomended is your source water instead of conditioning tap water should be RO/DI water which you can either buy or get a Ro/Di unit to male your own which is the best way to do it so you don't have to haul around buckets/jugs of water and your top off water MUST be fresh water (salt does not evaporate) so its good to have your own source in emergency situations.

I have a 37g FW community tank.. basic stuff- guppies, tetras, etc.

I am thinking about getting a 55g and setting it up as a SW FOWLR.