Total noob needs help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Batman77

Aquarium Advice Newbie
This is my first time on a forum and I am a total noob to saltwater tanks I have had freshwater in the past. What I am wanting is a 55 gal.tank with a DSB and some decorative rock (I was told that LR had to have special(expensive) lighting). Also I was thinking about getting a canister filter because it is quieter than a hang on back type and less expensive than a sump. And do I need a skimmer? Thanks

Hey, welcome to AA!

You sound like you are on the right track so far. If you are gong to do a DSB it will cost you a fortune unless you can find some aragonite play sand. You are partially right on the expensive lighting for live rock. Live rock really doesnt need any light to "live", but the coralline aglae does. However if all you are looking to keep is live rock with coralline algae, you could probably only end up spending around around 80 dollars on NO lighting. If i had it to do over again i would have spent more money to get some PCs, because it was only about a week after i started my FOWLR tank before i wanted some soft corals. So if you have any intention on getting corals go with some good lighting (PC or MH). On LR you should try to aim for 1.5_2 lbs per gallon for filtration. HTH
I am you will get more help from the pros!!

If I use the NO lighting will the LR filter the water or will I need to add the canister filter? Thanks sicklidkid for the quick reply

Canisters are nitrate factories, if you get one keep in mind it needs lots of attention from you in order to do its job properly.

If you add enough LR and dont want messy eaters for fish then all you will need is some power heads to circulate the water. I would be very wary of overstocking if you choose this method.