Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-15-2011, 12:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bloomk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
Tragedy strikes.

K, I bought a 90 gallon with a stand and had it all set up.. Even had it drilled for a sump. It was almost done cycling then......

I realize that the way the stand is designed, I cant get my sump under the tank without emptying the tank!!! Craaaap. Now I have to empty the tank, put the sump tank in, then start all over.
__________________

__________________
Bloomk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 12:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kempker1498's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 91
Welcome to the wonderful world of owning an aquarium! Some advice would be to make sure all your hoses are clamped down, or one will burst off the pump and spray water everywhere...when you are not home...ask me how I know !
__________________

__________________
Kempker1498 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 04:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bloomk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
Clamped?
__________________
Bloomk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 04:25 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Just get some clean jugs or buckets aan take half the water out and you should be able to move it just enough to get the sump in. BTW what size is the sump?
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 02:35 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bloomk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58
Just get some clean jugs or buckets aan take half the water out and you should be able to move it just enough to get the sump in. BTW what size is the sump?
20 long.
__________________
Bloomk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 11:57 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 3,287
You might be able to take off a door and a front brace if your stand is designed like mine it is just a couple of screws holding it in place.
__________________
joy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 02:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bloomk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
Already emptied it, put the sump in and refilled. Back to cycling again. . Emptying the tank gave me a chance to fix a very slow leak in my overflow too
__________________

__________________
Bloomk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.