Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-19-2013, 07:46 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Kristy3693's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 460
Transporting Live Sand

Hello! I am on the verge of buying a tank on Craig's List. It is a really sweet deal, an already up and running 120 gallon, fish and all. I have heard you should never disrupt your sand bed because it can crash. Would it cause problems to remove the 120 lbs of sand to transport and put it back in a couple hours later? Thanks for your help!
__________________

__________________
Kristy3693 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 09:39 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
I would rinse the sand bed out in buckets before I put it back in. You should be fine.
__________________

__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 12:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CleverBs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 2,210
Do not do not do not reuse the sand, It will cause more problems then its worth. BUY NEW SAND. even when you rinse it you will not remove all the phosphates that are in the sand. This will cause algae outbreaks and other headaches. You will also start a tank off with high nitrates because theres no way to totally clean the sand out. Also if you dont clean it in saltwater it wont be live anymore and you would spend a ton of money in salt unless you have an ocean near by and then you are just asking for other problems. Save yourself the time and problems and buy new sand. Also 120lbs of sand in a 120g tank seems like way more sand then you need. Its better to have 1-2" of sand then to have 3-4" of sand.
__________________
75G SPS Bare Bottom Reef
4g Nano LPS Reef
40g Fowlr
CleverBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 12:53 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Kristy3693's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 460
Thank you so much!
__________________
Kristy3693 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 01:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by CleverBs View Post
Do not do not do not reuse the sand, It will cause more problems then its worth. BUY NEW SAND. even when you rinse it you will not remove all the phosphates that are in the sand. This will cause algae outbreaks and other headaches. You will also start a tank off with high nitrates because theres no way to totally clean the sand out. Also if you dont clean it in saltwater it wont be live anymore and you would spend a ton of money in salt unless you have an ocean near by and then you are just asking for other problems. Save yourself the time and problems and buy new sand. Also 120lbs of sand in a 120g tank seems like way more sand then you need. Its better to have 1-2" of sand then to have 3-4" of sand.
Yea good call. If it is in an established system you don't want to reuse it. Since I'm sure you will have plenty of live rock, dry sand can be used as it will get seeded by the rock (much cheaper than live sans too)... Or an option is to use new dry sand and put just a couple of cups of the old sand to help seed it too.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 02:18 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CleverBs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benamayer View Post
Yea good call. If it is in an established system you don't want to reuse it. Since I'm sure you will have plenty of live rock, dry sand can be used as it will get seeded by the rock (much cheaper than live sans too)... Or an option is to use new dry sand and put just a couple of cups of the old sand to help seed it too.
Yeah you could do the old seeding method but you wouldnt need to. Would it hurt anything? No. Honestly you have more then enough Beneficial bacteria in your rock then you need to run a system. I run a 75g reef with no sand and ~60lbs of rock and have plenty of bacteria to confert my ammonia. Remeber how small the bacteria is they will just expant in the rock to help theres plenty of room in the system and removing the sand bed wont be an issue at all as far as cycling goes.
__________________
75G SPS Bare Bottom Reef
4g Nano LPS Reef
40g Fowlr
CleverBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 11:35 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Kristy3693's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 460
Thanks guys. Plus with buying new I am a little happy I won't have to transport and rinse the old stuff. There is 150 lbs of live rock so I think that is plenty of BB. thanks again for your help.
__________________
Kristy3693 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 12:23 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
Yeah and no worries with new!
__________________

__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
live, live sand, sand, transport, transporting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.