Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-19-2011, 11:37 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Blakskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 308
How important is carbon to a saltwater tank? Is it a nessicary thing to have? It just clarifies the water right?
__________________

__________________
Tyler B
Blakskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 02:26 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Depends on who you talk to....I personally don't run it at all on mine..it just absorbs chems and polishes water
__________________

__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 02:31 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I dont run carbon in my 125g but i do with the smaller tanks swince they have no sumps. It polishes up the water and can remove meds that you add to your tank.

I do plan on in the future getting a carbon reactor for the 125g to put in the sump just havent ad the money for it yet.

it is generally a personal choice if you run it or not. I happen to like carbon.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 02:37 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Think a nitrate reactor is worth the money?
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 03:35 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
If you don't gave a sump or refug to add Macro algae then yea for reefs for more than 75.
__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 06:35 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ricksreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blakskall
I shoodve gotten a refractometer in the beginning.. The amount that my hydrometer was off is incredible.. in a bad way lol my swing arm read 1.024 which is my target gravity, the refractometer read 1.030.. One of the best purchases ive made
Refractometers have to be be calibrated and so does the hydrometer .The salt mix container will usually tell you how to check the accuracy of your hydrometer and then mark it accordingly.
__________________
Ricksreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 11:18 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Blakskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 308
Should i get test kits for phosphates and calcium if i have a FOWLR tank?
__________________
Tyler B
Blakskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 02:34 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
They aren't a necessity for a fowlr but if you have the extra $$$ to they are nice. It can help rule out some things if say you have a disease break out in your tank..
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 02:44 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ricksreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blakskall
Should i get test kits for phosphates and calcium if i have a FOWLR tank?
In would test for phosphates ,since they could cause algae problems.
__________________
Ricksreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 07:46 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Blakskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 308
thanks guy, another question though, what are your thoughts on UV sterilizers and ozonizers? With a 30 gallon tank would it be considered overkill?
__________________

__________________
Tyler B
Blakskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, salt, saltwater, saltwater tank, tan, tank build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saltwater Tank Dream/Journey Hatterz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 07-15-2011 11:40 PM
55g tank build - BB discus tank roydooms Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 07-13-2011 12:30 PM
Redoing my whole tank, kinda a build thread rich6459 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 07-09-2011 05:12 PM
Betta Tank Build mr.waffles1842 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 20 07-01-2011 03:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.