Types of fish with reef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SaltyH2O

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm new to saltwater. My tank is cycling right now. My question is what kinds of fish am I limited to if I do a reef tank or was the pet store wrong in telling me I was very limited.

Well you're not limited to like 5 fish but there are some fish you just can't have... I'm no expert on reefs because I have yet to have one but I have researched some much about fish and with lots of research comes lots of knowledge. I have books that specify if they are or aren't reef safe. Just whatever fish you want just research. There are lots of fish for both reef and FOWLR. :)

I suggest coming up with a list of all the fish you like. Then post it on here and we can let you know what is wrong with the list (that fish gets too big, those can't go together, that one will eat corals, etc.).

What size tank?
What types of corals?
What fish made you want to do saltwater?

My tank is a 75 gallon bow front. Running a canister filter now cause I got it free but I think I am going to build a 20 gal sump. I want clown, tang, and wife is requesting a dog face puffer. I have a few damsels now. I heard those fish that sift the sand are cool to watch. Not set on any certain corals yet. I heard a puffer might be a problem with corals. Thanks for any help

No puffer, that will have to wait for your next tank.

I would get rid of the damsels, they are nothing but a headache. They will likely be too aggressive and you will end up pulling them out anyways.

Most any tank would be great with a pair of clowns. Just get the ones you really want cause you can't add more once you get a set. This I learned from experieince.