Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-02-2006, 11:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 15
Using Canister filter with Drilled Tank

I am not a newbie to Salwalter, Have 2 FOWLR 55 gallon tanks, both with Canister filters. (let not get into the canister vs wet dry discussion here). Anyway I am upgrading to a 75 drilled tank, I still want to use my canister filter on it, what are some suggestions on how to do that.

I want to take advantage of a sump to put the protein skimmer, heater, etc in. Obviously I can't feed the canistor from the sump, but I want to find a way to not have the canister input hose showing in the main tank.

Suggestions anyone....
__________________

__________________
gordemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 01:44 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 429
If you have the sump, why run the canister?
__________________

__________________
55g reef, 2x250W 10k MH + 2x96W PC actninc, 10g sump, AquaC Urchin skimmer, 65lbs LR

xenia, mushrooms, wels. open brain, fungia radiata (orange), green eyed zoos

flame angel, mated pair of false perc, 6-line, firefish

20gH electric yellow cichlid
theatrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 05:32 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to hemichris
Quote:
If you have the sump, why run the canister?
I agree
__________________
hemichris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 09:34 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Re: Using Canister filter with Drilled Tank

Quote:
Originally Posted by gordemer
Obviously I can't feed the canister from the sump
You could run it empty (to keep waste from building up) and run the intake into the sump and the output into the tank without issues IMO.

The only problem is if it’s a HOB canister then you will have a reduced output into the tank since it will have 4+ feet of head pressure against it. If it’s an under the stand kind of canister then it’s going to perform the same either way.

Unless you just want to use the canister for extra water movement I’d have to agree with the others that it’s kind of pointless and just using the sump for media storage would be best.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 11:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 15
I want the canister for the water flow (it puts out a lot more than most power heads), plus a place for carbon and phosphate remover,etc.

Its a fluval 404 under the stand now. I was alsot figuring that could be my pump back to the tank since it so powerful.
__________________
gordemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 09:18 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Your Fluval 404 does 340 GPH which is about a 5 times turn over per hour on your 75 gal tank. You will still need either a ph in the tank or a pump in the sump to get it to 1000-1500 GPH for adequate flow. The Mag 9.5 would be a good pump to use in the sump. I’d T it off to output on opposite sides of the tank and have the output of the Fluval in the middle personally.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 08:45 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 251
Send a message via AIM to Kohan Bros.
just a sugustion use ball valves or know the size of your bulkhead and the maxium volume of water your balkhead can handle. i doubt a regular reef ready 75gal can handle a mag9.5 even with head height just a thought though. good luck
__________________

__________________
I love the Grateful dead
Kohan Bros. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister, canister filter, drilled, filter, led, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using canister filter on a drilled tank joe&rae General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 02-07-2010 04:18 PM
Which canister filter for 50 gallon tank? jm667 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 03-29-2009 04:47 PM
Canister filter vs. HOB filter for a planted tank fort384 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 02-02-2009 01:09 AM
drilled aquarium and filter setup... sir_dudeguy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-02-2006 03:35 PM
Which Canister Filter for a 55 gallon tank Franco7 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 05-03-2005 12:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.