Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-05-2013, 09:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lanarkshire, Scotland
Posts: 62
Question using seed from established tank

Hi I set up my new 90 litre tank with substrate, gravel and plants just 2 weeks ago. Used nutrafin aqua plus and nutrafin cycle, but then discovered this site and think might be better not to use the nutrafin cycle. I tried to get ammonia, but can't find it anywhere so have sent away for it. In meantime I have started to try the fish food way of cycling my tank. Last night I got bacteria seed from an established healthy tank. He squeezed the sponge from his filter and I put this into my filter. Can you tell me if this will work, will fish food keep the bacteria alive and should I still add the ammonia when I get it. I am an absolute beginner so any advice would be greatly appreciated as I have always wanted to have a tropical fish tank but I don't want to cause any uneccessary suffering to the fish. I am also using plant food once a week.
__________________

__________________
yaioa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 02:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
critter fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Big Sky Country, USA
Posts: 16
You can always just pop a piece of shrimp in their that is tied down to rock or some anchor to cycle. I used live rock. In the past I too used bacteria from established tanks and no harm was done and it sped things up.
__________________

__________________
critter fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
james77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 247
Your friends sponge should've helped with your cycle a lot. It's almost like an instant cycle. You need to get a liquid test kit and test your water parameters.
__________________
james77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:13 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lanarkshire, Scotland
Posts: 62
Thanks for your help james77. I have sent for an API complete liquid test kit as I couldn't get one in any of my local shops,and am just waiting on it being delivered. I have some tetra test strips but don't think they are very accurate, so just want to make sure everything is ticking over nicely. Didn't know if the bacteria from friends aquarium would die if I didn't feed it with ammonia.
__________________
yaioa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
james77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 247
It should Work fine. I seeded my 55 from the filter cartridges from my 20 worked great for me.
__________________
james77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
established tank, seed, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.