Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-04-2012, 06:50 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Virgin Saltwater Fanatic!

Hi Guys, as you have probably realised from the Subject, I am "the new guy". I have never had the pleasure of running my own saltwater tank. I have been keeping freshwater fish for about 8 years but always wanted to make the progression.

I am being given an already established saltwater tank. It is a Fluval Venezia 190l tank, it has a Fluval external filter and a protein skimmer.

The tank is mostly full of live rock, it has a few corals, a male and female clownfish, a lemon tang and a few other critters which I didn't get to see.

I am really after some advice as to what is the best way to go about setting up the tank after transporting it. I spoke to a local fish shop and they told me that it will be just like starting all over again and I might lose my fish and live rock in the process, which I obviously don't want to happen. Is this accurate advice? Will I have to start all over? As I know the tank has been set up and running well for 5 years, so it is very well matured.

Any help and advice would be hugely appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to read this guys.

Old 06-04-2012, 10:22 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

If u transport everything properly and quickly u shouldn't have to start all over. Remove all fish and corals put the in plactic bags or containers. Then remove all the rocks and put them in 5 gallon buckets with some tank water in them to keep them wet. Then remove most the water and leave the sand in the bottom of the tank with a little bit of water In it and move the tank to the new home and set it all up if u don't let any of the rocks or sand dry out u should not need to start over