Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-16-2013, 05:11 PM   #31
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Possibly. You can give it a try. It isn't a lot of flow though in that large of a tank. You will have dead spots.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 10:46 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
So your saying put two mp40s on one aide and the other side i could just leave it cause the oter side is where my overflow is and where the water returns or i could just put a seio m820 that i have on that side?
__________________

__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 10:48 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
And whats the diffrence between mp40 and hydor korallia?
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 11:38 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
Every pump has its drawback. I think OP should throughly read the reviews from people here AND other forums as well.

From what I have read and see in person, the MPs are not worth it due to my own preferences. I would rather get a tunze.
__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 11:43 PM   #35
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Everyone has a preference and opinion. Those Tunze are nice pumps too. For me, I wouldn't go with anything but a vortech if it fits the budget.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 11:52 PM   #36
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
I can speak to Tunze 6045's and the MP10... and the MP10 is my favorite hands down.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 11:56 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
So what are some draw backs to the hydor korillas? And how much flow would i need for a 110? (Gph?)
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:00 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bosnianblood69 View Post
So what are some draw backs to the hydor korillas? And how much flow would i need for a 110? (Gph?)
Bulky, heat issues as the wet side is the motor. And there stated rate of flow is always off IMO.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:01 AM   #39
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
It depends on the types of coral you plan to keep. 10 to 20 times the water volume per hour is a good safe starting point.

The hydor koralias are not bad powerheads if you are on a budget. The drawbacks when compared to a vortech are:

-Less flow in comparison to the size
-Much less random flow as they are constant on
-More pump in your display tank vs. a vortech which has 60% of the assembly outside the tank
-More heat added to the system since the motor is inside the tank. The vortech adds no heat as there is no motor inside the tank. This is not so much a problem this time of year, but it can be a problem in the summer time, when most folks' houses are a little warmer. You are already adding heat via a return pump, a skimmer, a reactor (if you run 1), lighting, etc. The less heat you put in the tank, the less likely you are to need a chiller which is expensive, can be noisy, and also costs quite a bit in electricity to run.

EDIT: Ninja'd by convict!
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:04 AM   #40
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
Bulky, heat issues as the wet side is the motor. And there stated rate of flow is always off IMO.
It should be noted, too, in the studies I have seen done, Vortech actually UNDERRATES their gallons per hour, as compared to most manufacturers which overrate their pumps.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.