Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-31-2013, 06:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

wanna switch. need help

So I would like to switch my cycling 36bowfront to a FOWLR. Currently I have 2 AC-70s for filtration and a 300w heater.

I have the basics so what would actual cost be? Ive been researching for a few months and learning because it really interest me. Someone elses thread made me really wanna do it even more.

What stock could I have? Id like reef safe for future corals when im more into it and have good lighting. Will my current equipment work? What brand of salt can I use? are all sw salts the same? Im sure I missed a few questions but ill add em later when I remember!

Old 08-31-2013, 08:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

If your current cycling tank is freshwater you will need to start again to switch to salt. Your filters will work but are not ideal for salt set ups (constant cleaning) your live rock will be your main source of filtration and I would aim for 40pounds or so. Then you will need sand (or bare bottom if you prefer) You could use a skimmer (not necessary but helpful) a couple of powerheads for flow. In addition to that you would need to invest in a ro-di system, to make water (no tap water for reefs I am afraid) salt water test kits, a refractometer (for measuring salinity) a good salt mix (any marine salt mix will do, some people prefer one brand over another - research what works for you) You lighting will be your biggest investment if you are planning a reef. I think that should cover the basics...

Old 08-31-2013, 10:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bectan01 View Post