Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-20-2004, 03:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: LUBB. TEXAS
Posts: 356
Water Change

When I do a water change, do I need to vaccume the sand or is that for freshwater only. I can't seem to find out from lfs. They just tell me to do a 10% water change weekly.
__________________

__________________
myty1705
Message to all aquariasts!!!!!
Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.
Oscar Wilde
MYTY1705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 03:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 202
It's not necessary to vaccum sand. If you were using CC or some other larger grained substrate, then vaccumming would be is necessary.
__________________

__________________
Kimberly

"Expecting the world to treat you fairly because you are a good person is a little like expecting the bull not to attack you because you are a vegetarian." - Dennis Wholey
kreach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 05:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: LUBB. TEXAS
Posts: 356
This is probably null question, but is that for any depth sand bed. I have about 2" play sand and 1/2" aragonite sand on top.
__________________
myty1705
Message to all aquariasts!!!!!
Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.
Oscar Wilde
MYTY1705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 05:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 202
No vacuuming required.
__________________
Kimberly

"Expecting the world to treat you fairly because you are a good person is a little like expecting the bull not to attack you because you are a vegetarian." - Dennis Wholey
kreach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 05:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: LUBB. TEXAS
Posts: 356
great thank you sooooo much. My LFS at lunch was trying to sell me one. Going to try other LFS next time. See it they try to ben over barrel as much. HEHEHE
__________________
myty1705
Message to all aquariasts!!!!!
Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.
Oscar Wilde
MYTY1705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water change or just add RO water during cure process???? caco Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 10-23-2008 11:50 AM
Water change - sit for a week - cloudy after change satch Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 10-07-2008 06:58 PM
To water change or not to water change. that is the question Andari Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 01-05-2007 05:38 PM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
When should I do my 1st water change? And water change ? stew Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 10-11-2003 02:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.