Water change requirements

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pinda

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi guys I am new to saltwater aqauriums. I would like to know what is needed for a water change. When I change my water must I change it only with cycled water????? What additives must I use??? Can I use tap water?????

It is best to use RO water. It is not "cycled" water. Tanks get cycled, but it is not the water that is growing the good bacteria during the cycling process, it is being grown on surfaces such as rock, sand, filtration media and things like that.

You mix the saltwater in a bucket, rubbermaid container or whatever you have that is large enough to hold the water that you will be using. Let it mix well and aerate for 24 hours before using. During the cold months, you may want to put a heater in there to make sure the water is the proper temperature. If you are using a quality salt mix, additives are not needed.

Hara said:
It is best to use RO water. It is not "cycled" water. Tanks get cycled, but it is not the water that is growing the good bacteria during the cycling process, it is being grown on surfaces such as rock, sand, filtration media and things like that.

You mix the saltwater in a bucket, rubbermaid container or whatever you have that is large enough to hold the water that you will be using. Let it mix well and aerate for 24 hours before using. During the cold months, you may want to put a heater in there to make sure the water is the proper temperature. If you are using a quality salt mix, additives are not needed.
Thanks for the advice but could you explain aerate??? Do you mean have a powerhead in there or just leave it uncovered?

Do you mean have a powerhead in there or just leave it uncovered?