Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-31-2012, 01:19 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
moo33284's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 143
No I'm not. I want to get one started though but don't really know what the best way to go is with the refugium. I have a hang on filter I was thinking of turning into one. what did you do for yours? Is there anything a little simpler I can do to make one?
__________________

__________________
moo33284 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:19 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
The reason the larger change can be better is mainly due to percentages. One 10g change will remove more nitrates then 2 seperate 5g changes. If your not fighting nitrates and just wanna replenish elements then multiple small changes is definitely best
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:20 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
They are very simple just a few baffles siliconed into place to section it off. Check out melvreefs.com they have a lot of info on the matter or check YouTube.. sorry if the link is wrong google melvs reef if so.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:20 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
moo33284's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 143
Ahhh I see...okay so maybe I'll stick with ten g changes till everything levels out. Thanks a lot!
__________________
moo33284 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:23 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
moo33284's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 143
I saw someone made a little thing out of gutter guard and lr rubble for pods to just leave in the tank. I was thinking of making one of these also to help establish a pod population. Are pods small enough to be pumped back through my sump if I keep the fuge down there?
__________________
moo33284 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:26 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Ya some will make it but some will also perrish. The best for a fuge is one that just flows back into the DT from gravity but honestly unless you are really straining the pod population then they will be fine being pumped back into your tank. I've got a mandarin nice and fat in my system and still a large pod population with about 5-7 gallons dedicated to a fuge in my sump.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:38 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by moo33284
I saw someone made a little thing out of gutter guard and lr rubble for pods to just leave in the tank. I was thinking of making one of these also to help establish a pod population. Are pods small enough to be pumped back through my sump if I keep the fuge down there?
Yes. Tey will hitch rides through your return pump to the tank.best thing to do is buy a tank thatll fit under your main tank, ten simply section it off in 3 sections (youll need 2 cut to spec pieces of acrylic from lowes or home depot) and ten simply measure it out so your skimmer and retrn pump fit, then silicone them in ( with aquarium safe silicone of course (go with GE silicone 1, doesnt have mildew resistors in it)
And +1 to the percentages statement.
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:40 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
moo33284's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 143
Okay... I have a 3 step fuge all run by gravity until the pump. Maybe I'll set it up in the middle part. I'm sorry to ask this but do you have any pics of your fuge setup? You've been such a big help already! I really do appreciate it!!
__________________
moo33284 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:42 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
moo33284's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 143
I have a 30 gallon sump underneath. The spot the pump sis in is about five gallons. Think I could just use this space?
__________________
moo33284 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:48 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Yep here's my re build since my old one sprung a leak and the last one just took a second ago
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120831_124532.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	63.7 KB
ID:	115819   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120831_124549.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	61.8 KB
ID:	115820  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120831_124621.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	61.6 KB
ID:	115821   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120831_124650.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	63.3 KB
ID:	115822  

__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.