Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-03-2013, 01:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DaleHauze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hershey Pa
Posts: 220
Water changes

I was looking for advice on how to do water changes with a sump system. Do you drain water from the DT and add to the DT or can everything be done in the sump. I have a 110g tank with a 30g sump refugium. Iv only had canister filter systems up to this point
__________________

__________________
DaleHauze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 02:01 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
It can be done either way. If you.have stuff that needs cleaned out by vacuum in the tank then the tank can be cleaned and shut off the pumps. When addng water back in you can add it threw the sump and turn the pumps back on. Everyone does it a little different it just depends on whats easier for you.
__________________

__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 05:42 PM   #3
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,536
I use my ato to pump new water into the sump as i siphon it out of the display with pretty good results.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 06:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
I use my ato to pump new water into the sump as i siphon it out of the display with pretty good results.
I do the same except it's not an auto lol. I have a water line going into it with a valve to open and close
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:26 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
I don't have a strong enough pump to push water from container full of new water over the tank rim, so my new water goes to the sump.
__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 11:32 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DaleHauze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hershey Pa
Posts: 220
Ty for the advice ill give it a try this weekend, first water change time /crosses fingers
__________________

__________________
DaleHauze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.