Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-08-2005, 10:05 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Send a message via AIM to Ximat
Water Changes

As I said in a previous post Im pretty new to SW keeping. My next question is regarding water changes. I have a 75 gallon tank that is now 6 weeks old. I've done one water change, but at that time I only had damsels in there. Now that I have no damsels and 1 goby and 1 firefish I want to know what a proper method of water change is.

How do you prepare your water and such? What routine do you do?

I've been told I should do 10gallons of water per change, so I was thinking of preping two 5 gal buckets a day in advance, and putting a powerhead in the bucket to stir up the water to make sure my SG is proper. Is this a good technique? Also I was thinking of doing water changes on the 1st and 15th of the month. those are paydays so i can get new filters

Input?

Old 02-08-2005, 10:53 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Water changes should be done on a regular basis. Try 1ogal every two to three weeks. I just fill up a rubbermaid tub with the SW I mixed. Put in a heater, a powerhead and an airstone. I just let it set for 24-48hrs (or until I get around to doing a water change). That is about it. Just make sure you are doing occasional top-offs with FW to make up for evaporation. Are you using tap water or RO/DI water?

Old 02-08-2005, 11:05 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Tap water. RO/DI is out of my league right now. I have topped off a couple times with FW to keep the salinity right.

What purpose does the airstone serve in your tub? I understand the powerhead for circulation.
Old 02-08-2005, 02:22 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Send a message via MSN to frogiii