Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-06-2008, 08:32 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy953 View Post
I would say that since the rock he is using came from a mature tank that he may not have seen a spike at all in ammonia or nitrites. With NitrAtes steady at 20-40 I think his cycle is pretty much complete.
All depends on how that rock was transported. I saw that about the "mature tank", but didn't want to assume that meant it wasn't dry for a week - even though it was from a good tank. And not knowing source water, well... those nitrates could've been there from day one.

Quote:
Nitrites and Amonia have never been past 0. I've never seen a "spike" since the LR was added and setup approx 2.5 weeks ago. In fact everything has been pretty much the same since i set it up 2.5 weeks ago. My only concern is the Nitrates being at about 20 to 40.
Something doesn't sound right... if you're using RO/DI water with 0ppm nitrates, and you never saw any ammonia or nitrites, and the tank doesn't have any livestock, then where are the nitrates coming from? If it was me, I'd throw in a cocktail shrimp or some fish food and watch for ammonia. But that's just me...
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 07:03 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
2nicewitit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 45
Okay, now on week 3 w/ the cycle. I conducted a 20% WC approx 3 days ago and nitrates still at approx 20, nitrites 0, amonia 0 and ph approx 8.2-8.4 however i'm starting to notice alot of hair algae growth. Do you guys think i should have my metal halide on for approx 8-10hrs / day while cycling? I think it is promoting the algae groth. I plan on another 20% wc in the next few days. Thoughts????
__________________

__________________
2nicewitit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 03:04 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Having the lights on is fine during the cycle. The algae is growing because of excess nutrients in the water. Have you tested for phosphates?
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 02:33 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Guess I'm still scratching my head...

You say you're still cycling, but if your ammonia and nitrites are at zero... you're done. BUT - you also say that you never saw any ammonia or nitrites show up. Sooo... did you ever put anything in the tank (fish food, raw shrimp, etc) to kick start the cycle? I know you said you used rock from an established tank, but without throwing something in there to decay you can't really be sure you're good to go. And if you WERE good to go, then the longer the tank sits without an ammonia source to feed the bacteria, the more chance that the bacteria will die off and you'll experience a cycle when you add fish.

Basically, you have to options as to where you're at:

1. You're cycled, and after water changes to reduce the nitrates can add fish
2. You haven't even started cycling, and have to add an ammonia source to kick start the cycle.

It seems like you're waiting for something, but I'm not sure what...
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 06:59 PM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree, throw a pinch of food in the tank and test for ammonia in 3-4 days. If you see ammonia, you will need to add an ammonia source, such as food or a raw, unseasones shrimp.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 10:35 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
2nicewitit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 45
okay, now i'm pretty confused my self. As of exactly one week ago, my nitrates 0, ph 8.4, nitrites 0 and amonia 0. One week ago, i did a 25% wc in the hopes of reducing nitrates.

This morning, i noticed a huge algae bloom covering just about everything.

I did some investigating and discovered the bloom is mainly because of the phosphate levels. Wish i new this as i did not have a phosphate test.

Today, levels are the same w/ amonia being at 0, nitrites 0, ph at 8.4 and nitrates still at 20.

I just came back from the LFS and picked up an amonia remover to put in the media basket of my red sea skimmer along w/ a phosphate tester.

Phosphate levels are high at 2.0.

I'm litterally doing a 40% WC using ro/di water, trying to reduce some of the levels mentioned above.

I'm real confused now and hope what i'm doing is more benefincial or detrimental?????? Any thoughts would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks,

__________________
2nicewitit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 11:34 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
1. What is in your tank as far as livestock? If you're not feeding the tank anything and it's just sitting there, the only place you can get 2.0ppm phosphates is from your source water. Did you test your RO/DI water for phosphates?

2. Why did you get an ammonia remover if your ammonia reads zero?

3. And finally... what did you do to kick start the cycle? If you don't understand the question, then just ask, please! But if you're just blowing it off, just let me know so I'll stop bothering asking about it everytime!
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 12:11 AM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2nicewitit View Post
okay, now i'm pretty confused my self. As of exactly one week ago, my nitrates 0, ph 8.4, nitrites 0 and amonia 0. One week ago, i did a 25% wc in the hopes of reducing nitrates.
I am now scratching my head like Kurt...You say you have 0 nitrates, but you did a PWC to reduce nitrAtes....Just trying to figure this out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2nicewitit View Post
Today, levels are the same w/ amonia being at 0, nitrites 0, ph at 8.4 and nitrates still at 20.
Now the levels are the same but you have nitrAtes? This is where I'm getting confused...

What type of tests are you using and can you get your LFS to test the water so you can verify your tests aren't bad?
Remember, there are nitrItes and nitrAtes, don't use the wrong test/card for reading the results.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 01:12 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Roka,

Think you misread the post. Look back on previous posts... both ammonia AND nitrites have ALWAYS been at zero. 2nicewitit has never seen any measurable ammonia or nitrites. However, it sounds like the nitrates have been there from near the beginning.

Nitrates need to come from somewhere, and you have two choices:

1. The water you're mixing with your salt mix, or
2. Something decomposing in the tank (fish waste, food, etc)
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 01:53 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
2nicewitit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
Roka,

Think you misread the post. Look back on previous posts... both ammonia AND nitrites have ALWAYS been at zero. 2nicewitit has never seen any measurable ammonia or nitrites. However, it sounds like the nitrates have been there from near the beginning.

Nitrates need to come from somewhere, and you have two choices:

1. The water you're mixing with your salt mix, or
2. Something decomposing in the tank (fish waste, food, etc)

Yes all readings have always been zero w/ the exception of nitrates that have been steadily at approx 20.

They have been this way for approx 3.5 weeks.

i'm trying to reduce nitrates by doing approx a 40% wc.

I personally belive the nitrates have been there since day one when i got the LR from a mature tank.

When transporting the rock, it was out of water for approx 1.5 hours.

Throught the 3 weeks or so, i've been see a gradual increase in algae. And this morning i just seemed to noticed a whole lot more than before.

I've never tested for phosphate until today and determined that the phosphate levels were reading approx 2.

I've been usin an ro/di since day one. Just out of curiosity, i checked the phosphate levels from the ro/di and they read approx .5. It is a 4 stage ro/di and i've only had it for about a month.

So i guess right now, my main objectives are to reduce the algae...which i take i have to reduce phosphates...thus doing more frequent water changes. And my second objective is to reduce nitrates...again doing more water changes.

So just to be clear...and i really appologize for the confustion...i know my tank has been cycled when amonia is 0 and nitrites are 0 right?

To reduce the levels in the current levels...phosphates and nitrates i just have to keep up w/ the WCs right? (is there a specfice percentage and frequency that you recommend?)

And w/ my current readings...when do you think i should start seeing changes in the phosphate and nitrate levels?

Thanks for all the help, its been greatley appreciated.

__________________

__________________
2nicewitit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water changes during cycling? MsBeanCtr Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 10-02-2006 11:04 AM
cycling water rngrjt Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-08-2006 10:02 AM
do water changes delay cycling? will it make cycling LONGER? Bubble_Boy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-09-2004 01:17 PM
water cycling nutrak Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 03-09-2004 02:33 PM
Water Changes while cycling Fin-tastic Aq Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 07-23-2003 12:34 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.