Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-15-2009, 01:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iron River, MI
Posts: 15
Water Cycle Help Needed, First SW Tank

Hi...I got a testing kit...drove 45 miles to get one and the one they had didnt test for nitrate..but I have the strip (i know, but better than nothin)It does test ammonia and nitrite though. Sooo My tank(45H) is still just live sand, marco rock 50lb, and live fiji10lb, and no living creature but my darn aiptasia. (a whole nother topic) I tested the ammonia and the nitrite this morning and got
Ammonia 3.0
Nitrite 0.3
Nitrate 20

The ammonia is really between the 1.5 and 3.0 but closer to the 3.0
I raised the temp to 80 and have not changed the salinity which reads at 1.024
Did not put the shrimp in until I could really read the ammonia, my strip kit didnt have it.
Now what...I have not done a water change and need to know if you have any suggestions or advice where to go, now that I have more exact testing. Been running 12 days with sand, 10 days with Marco rock and 5 days with live rock added. Thanks so much..Stacy
__________________

__________________
lilfirefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 02:03 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iron River, MI
Posts: 15
oh boy...no one out there?
__________________

__________________
lilfirefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 02:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
blue71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 126
Do a water change, you may want to add a tiny bit more LR, and throw in a pump for circulation if you dont already have one, and what kind of filter do you have?
__________________
You know you've been thinking about fish too much when your fighting for your anenome in your dreams at night...
blue71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 02:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iron River, MI
Posts: 15
I have no access to more LR...I have a bak-pak II protein skimmer running that does have a powerhead and filter system. How much water should I change. 20%??
__________________
lilfirefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 02:42 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
blue71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 126
20% is good, if your skimmer has carbon or something then you probably should change it
__________________
You know you've been thinking about fish too much when your fighting for your anenome in your dreams at night...
blue71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 02:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
blue71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 126
Michigan Eh? I used to live by Ann Arbor
__________________
You know you've been thinking about fish too much when your fighting for your anenome in your dreams at night...
blue71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 02:45 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iron River, MI
Posts: 15
yes, the UP...so very remote to supplies. My closest SW store is 90 miles away!
__________________
lilfirefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 02:47 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iron River, MI
Posts: 15
my skimmer has a biobale and the media is kind of old so I left it in. I am off to do a water change I guess.
__________________
lilfirefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 02:49 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
blue71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 126
Yeah that sucks, I would have to do all my shopping online eww...
__________________
You know you've been thinking about fish too much when your fighting for your anenome in your dreams at night...
blue71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 02:52 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
blue71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 126
I think youre supposed to leave the biobales in so thats good
__________________

__________________
You know you've been thinking about fish too much when your fighting for your anenome in your dreams at night...
blue71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, first sw, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting a second tank. Speed up cycle w/ first tank water? turbovr6 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 11-28-2007 12:11 PM
Cycle advise needed SEATTLEWINTER Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 10-15-2006 04:43 PM
Using freshwater water to cycle reef tank? Nøjo Saltwater Reef Aquaria 36 11-20-2005 09:39 PM
established tank water to start a cycle? hackteck Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 04-02-2005 05:44 PM
Mini Cycle or what? Advice needed PK Tester Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-11-2004 06:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.