Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-01-2003, 05:50 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 67
Send a message via ICQ to Butters Send a message via AIM to Butters Send a message via MSN to Butters Send a message via Yahoo to Butters
Water Level in sump

for some reason im paranoid that i will lose my syphon in my overflow box and my pump will make my tank over flow. what are the chances of this happening? also is there a way to make a backup place for the water from the sump to go if the syphon breaks? i was thinking along the lines of a higher leveled overflow box that would drain into an empty container

i have about 15 gallons of water in my sump atm...is that to much? if so what is a good level?
__________________

__________________
Butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 06:44 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
As I remember in chat, your using a CPR overflow. If you add a small maxijet power head and have the air intake on the pump hooked up, there is very little chance of losing your siphon, and if you do the pump will start it back up for you.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 12:24 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
from my experiments with overflows and sumps, you should run your tank's water level low "enough" so that it can handle the ammount of water in your sump ... for me, this level was right level with the bottom of the plastic band surrounding the top of the tank .. with the overflow disrupted, the sump would fill the tank up to just under the plastic "lip" that is inside the band ... leaving at least another 1/4" before it actually overflowed onto the floor

also, my pump wont drain the sump completely either, as it's intank is about 1" above the bottom of the sump ... adjusting those two variables (tank's water level, and sump pump height) should help you avoid any overflow conditions!

HTH
__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 01:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 67
Send a message via ICQ to Butters Send a message via AIM to Butters Send a message via MSN to Butters Send a message via Yahoo to Butters
Quote:
Originally Posted by reefrunner69
As I remember in chat, your using a CPR overflow. If you add a small maxijet power head and have the air intake on the pump hooked up, there is very little chance of losing your siphon, and if you do the pump will start it back up for you.
lol sorry you completely lost me here. where should the jet be? in the overflow or blowing into it from inside the tank?
__________________
Butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 01:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 67
Send a message via ICQ to Butters Send a message via AIM to Butters Send a message via MSN to Butters Send a message via Yahoo to Butters
i was thinking of that gl but i cant get my overflow box to get down that far to get the water to the plastic band. the wing nuts dont have anything to hold on to that far down.
__________________
Butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 01:23 PM   #6
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That would be way too far for my comfort and viewing experience, if I lowered my tanks water level down far enough to accept 10 more gallons of water

BTW, my overflow won't let it go down that far anyway..
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 03:49 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Maxijet is a type of powerhead.

IMO the CPR overflows are not as attractive because they require a powerhead to keep the overflow free of excess air.

You could do as Gordon said but for us who run large sumps that requires the water to be very low in the tank. I have 25gal of water in my sump so having to run teh tank at 25gal below full would leave several inches of room.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2003, 06:59 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
lol sorry you completely lost me here. where should the jet be? in the overflow or blowing into it from inside the tank?
The airline from the pump would suck the trapped air out of the overflow
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2003, 08:18 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 67
Send a message via ICQ to Butters Send a message via AIM to Butters Send a message via MSN to Butters Send a message via Yahoo to Butters
Amiracle overflow box
Injection molded skimmer box, pre-filter, U-tube, and pre-filter sponge, eliminating the need to drill your aquarium and allowing for instant start-up.

Up to 600gph

this is what its called it isnt a cpr which i thought it was. using this with a sr2 skimmer in the sump along with my rio 2500 pump.
__________________

__________________
Butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
level, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water level wont settle in sump s10469 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 11-01-2008 08:45 AM
WATER LEVEL adacaro Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 01-02-2006 10:00 PM
water level chiefs101 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 01-01-2006 06:40 PM
Water level spongebobby Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 12-26-2004 12:22 PM
More on water level Hara Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 03-09-2003 01:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.