Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-11-2011, 06:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tampa
Posts: 44
Water parameters

I've been cycling for 2 weeks and ammonia, nitrite and nitrate are all 0.. Where do I go from here??
__________________

__________________
BigEfromthe813 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
well if you saw the typical spike of ammonia and nitrite then i would say your cycled and i would do a large water change and slowly add livestock
__________________

__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:47 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dawsonville, Ga
Posts: 1,285
Send a message via AIM to Flake
If there were nitrates, I would say yes, but due to the lack of them i'm thinking the tank isn't cycled at all.

How did you cycle?
__________________
Flake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:50 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tampa
Posts: 44
Thanks hack-- yea I've been really high in ammonia a week or so ago then this past weekend my nitrite was REAL high.. Now all is 0.. I should do a water change? 25%? and when you say slowly add live stock, is that like one piece a week?
__________________
BigEfromthe813 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:50 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tampa
Posts: 44
There were nitrates showing yesterday now my API drops say there are 0
__________________
BigEfromthe813 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dawsonville, Ga
Posts: 1,285
Send a message via AIM to Flake
Nitrates don't just disappear.
__________________
Flake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:52 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
Unless you're growing some macroalgae like chaeto you're not cycled.


Like Flake said you would have some nitrates, they don't just disappear like that
__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:54 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
what were you using as your ammonia source for the cycle?
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:56 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tampa
Posts: 44
I have 3 green chromis in there.. One of my rocks has some green algae on it now
__________________
BigEfromthe813 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:58 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
so you used fish to cycle? you probably had no idea (neither did i when if i first started) but you could have done a fishless cycle by dropping a raw shrimp in there so none of your live stock would die during the cycle so they all made it?
__________________

__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
meters, parameters, water parameters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a few questions about the type of water --- water test parameters vromanowski Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 02-23-2010 02:28 AM
What can I do about my water parameters? Meaile Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 07-20-2005 11:18 PM
water parameters jimmyhong7 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 02-13-2004 02:06 PM
water parameters peter101 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 12-09-2003 06:33 PM
water parameters darcy_peer Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 11-02-2002 11:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.