Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-13-2013, 05:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
aquinn425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 129
Water parameters

55 gallon started 4 weeks ago today. We have live sand, live rock, and an external power filter. Powerheads are on. Table shrimp in the tank as well. Tested the parameters today::
Ph 8.2
Ammonia 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates 0

Ready for fish?!?!
__________________

__________________
aquinn425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 07:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bectan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 1,930
Have you done a big water change? It's a little odd to have 0 nitrates after a cycle. If you have then I would say you are ready for fish!
__________________

__________________
Bectan01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 08:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
aquinn425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 129
We did one about a week ago.
__________________
aquinn425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 10:13 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rmckoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 919
It is Very weird not having any nitrates at all .
I'm thinking the ammonia source was removed too soon and the cycle didn't have a chance to finish,
Or after the cycle finished the tank sat empty with no ammonia source ( live stock )
A little more information is needed .
How long was it set up for ?
How long did it take to cycle ?
What method did you use ?
Do you remember your parameters levels during the cycle ?
__________________
Rmckoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 01:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
aquinn425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 129
I used a table shrimp for ammonia and actually still have it in the tank. I thought nitrates were supposed to be low as possible so I'm not sure what the big deal is that it's 0?? Again, the tank has been going for a month now.
__________________
aquinn425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 05:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
Nitrates will be high and amonia and nitrites should have been zero at the end of the cycle. If your parameters looked like that, when you did the water change, then you are good. If you never had nitrates, something is off.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 06:13 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
aquinn425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 129
Ok. The last nitrate reading before this one was 10.
__________________

__________________
aquinn425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.