Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-18-2005, 09:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Water Parameters

Greetings all,

I am presently at the point of being this close ->...<- to finally move my fishes into the main tank, but I am stumped (?) with water parameters....

My tank is 125 gal. with another 46 gal. contained in my filtering system. Two weeks in a row, I did a 30 gal. water change and I am still not happy with what I see. The nitrate only went down to 15 and the PH stays at 7.8. Here are the current water parameters that I just finished gathering:

Salinity= 1.024
Phosphate= 0
Ph= 7.8
Ammonia= 0
Nitrite= 0
Nitrate= 15 (Colour is between 15 and 20)
Water temp.= 80 F.

Saturday, I also added the required amount (for my tank) of Sachem Liquid Marine Buffer. It still did not make a difference.

So, I come to you, masters and gods of marine aquaria for ideas and clues on how to solve my problem.

I have a RO/DI unit and I tested the RO/DI water on the week-end. Input is 150 + ppm and output is 0 ppm. There is skimmer running, it was skimming like crazy while and after the LR (135 lbs) was curing but now the water is crystal clear and there is barely anything being skimmed from the tank. No livestock yet. There is also 200 lbs of sand in there.

Thanks in advance for your time!!

8)
__________________

__________________
Serge

Vote Here for Aquarium Advice
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 12:27 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Do you have a glass cover? You may not be getting sufficient gas exchange at the surface.
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 11:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Hi QS. I have those folding glass coers which are folded, leaving only 50% of the glass covering the tank. Also, there is a lot of water mouvement at the surface as I have one of those jetstream tank from marineland. See my gallery for what my tank looks like.

Cheers.

8)
__________________
Serge

Vote Here for Aquarium Advice
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2005, 02:46 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Hey Serge,

What type of filtration are you using on your tank? Are those wet/dry systems with bio balls? I can't really tell too well from the pic. Bio balls have been known to cause issues with nitrates, but since this is a new tank it shouldn't impact it right away. Also, how long has the system been cycling for, and what are you using to cycle the tank with?

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 12:34 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
ST - I have 2 Tidepool-2 on this baby. No bio balls tho. They both have: coarse and fine filtering media and charcoal pillows and bio wheel. All of this is powered with a mag24.

The tank was cycled twice... The tank was initially cycled with uncured LR and was ready a week before vacation. Since I had nobody to babysit the tank, I had to shut it down for 2 weeks and restart the cycle when I returned. It has now been running since June 18. Did a 30 gal. water change for the last 2 Saturdays. Cannot do more as this is as large container I could fit in the living room without getting into trouble with my wife. I will be doing more water changes until the nitrate goes much lower. I am aiming at 10 ppm or less before I move my fishes and crabs in there.

Thanks for your time!

8)
__________________
Serge

Vote Here for Aquarium Advice
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2005, 11:33 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
with that much LR I see no need for the bio wheel, try running without the biowheel and chenge out the filter pads and see if that helps.
15 is not that bad and fish can handle nitrate at that level, so tossing in a fish or 2 to help keep the tank going may not be a bad idea.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
meters, parameters, water parameters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Parameters madhatter208 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 05-31-2007 05:10 PM
Water Parameters? Boykin Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 03-17-2007 08:20 PM
Water Parameters Alex&amp;Jen Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 07-26-2006 12:39 PM
water parameters peter101 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 12-09-2003 06:33 PM
water parameters darcy_peer Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 11-02-2002 11:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.