Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-02-2009, 02:43 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Water question

Hello!

I have a question regarding water. Would water filtered with a PUR or Brita water filter be acceptable?

I'm a college student living in an apartment, and installing my own RO/DI filter isn't allowed by my lease. I have a 30 gallon tank, so I could just get water from Wal-mart, but I feel that it's impractical with also setting up a 10 gallon quarantine tank, water changes, and daily top-offs.

If the RO water from Wal-mart is the best solution for this I can just deal with it, but it would be a lot more convenient if I could use filtered tap water.

(also, i would go to my LFS, but the one in my town (Fort Collins) recently went out of business. I'm not sure if PetSmart or Pet Co would have RO/DI water, and the other nearest fish store is roughly an hour away (Greeley).

Any help would be wonderful!

Old 12-02-2009, 09:39 AM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club

Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
It depends on how good the tap water is to being with. Here is Fort Collins water quality report. http://www.fcgov.com/utilities/pdf/dwqr.pdf

Here's a good article on using tap water in reef systems.
Tap Water in Reef Aquaria

Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 10:50 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Pur or Brita could get to be expensive. You could get the RO/DI unit and not attach it to any walls and just hook it up to a faucet and run it that way. Just put the unit in a plastic container as to not spill any water.
Old 12-02-2009, 04:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict