Water test

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Justnick

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
What the best thing to buy to test ur water? I bought the test strip lil hard to understand can someone plz help me understand how to read it

The strips are very inaccurate. A good starter test kit are the liquid tests by api

Ok how would a newbie like me under stand it ???

The directions are easy to follow. You just match colors when you finish the test. At least on the API.

Get the api reef masters test kit I'm pretty new to this too. I started freshwater and my test strip worked but I found the api master test kits to be a necessity now. They are accurate and last a while. If you plan to spend money on a reef system I'd say buy a reef master kit also get the amonia test kit which will be seperate. Go to your lfs ask them what you need. Don't be cheap it's not worth it. Another thing be sure to read the test instructions thoroughly and check the expiration dates.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

API kits are good for starters, that's what I used until recently. Once you get the hang of it, you can go to Salifert or Hanna Checkers. They are more precise and easier to read.

RedSea is good, but for beginners learning the ropes, API is "good enough"...A few drops, a few shakes, and waiting for 5 minutes is less intimidating than some of the instructions with the other kits (my Salifert Mg test has 3 reagants, for example).

Ease of use will lead to regular testing, which increases the chance of a successful tank. Once the OP is used to the process and comfortable with it, they can "graduate" to the higher-end test kits.

What's wrong with api is it really that inaccurate. I am curious as to why one would jump to a different method.