Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-10-2014, 11:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Water test

What the best thing to buy to test ur water? I bought the test strip lil hard to understand can someone plz help me understand how to read it

Old 02-10-2014, 11:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

The strips are very inaccurate. A good starter test kit are the liquid tests by api

Old 02-10-2014, 11:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Ok how would a newbie like me under stand it ???
Old 02-12-2014, 01:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

The directions are easy to follow. You just match colors when you finish the test. At least on the API.
Old 02-12-2014, 02:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Get the api reef masters test kit I'm pretty new to this too. I started freshwater and my test strip worked but I found the api master test kits to be a necessity now. They are accurate and last a while. If you plan to spend money on a reef system I'd say buy a reef master kit also get the amonia test kit which will be seperate. Go to your lfs ask them what you need. Don't be cheap it's not worth it. Another thing be sure to read the test instructions thoroughly and check the expiration dates.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Old 02-12-2014, 03:08 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict

API kits are good for starters, that's what I used until recently. Once you get the hang of it, you can go to Salifert or Hanna Checkers. They are more precise and easier to read.
Old 02-12-2014, 04:41 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist

Send a message via Yahoo to shabahang
Go with red sea testing methods
Old 02-12-2014, 04:43 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict