Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-27-2007, 08:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: new smyrna beach, fl
Posts: 47
Water turn over

[/quote]Generally total gph turn over should be around 15-20 times the tank size i.e. your 55 should have 800-1200 gph total. This can vary with coral needs though. (high flow corals can need up to 30 times turnover) I'd at least aim for a 15 times turnover.
Quote:
Wow! I just bought a RIO 2100 (692 gal, but 375 at 4ft) do you think this is too much for my tank? I also have 2 Hagen 50 powerheads.
I don't have any plans for corals except maybe shrooms.
__________________

__________________
jwburleson97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 08:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
Not at all. Thats just a 15x turnover. Thats what I would do for fowlr probably.
__________________

__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 08:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
^I agree. More flow helps keep detritus suspended, which aids in removal. It also helps push water through LR and LS to aid the biological filtration. FWIW I run a seio (620 gph) and a MJ 900 (235 gph) PH, along w/ a Mag 9.5(~ 500 gph at the output) on a wavemaker in my 55 for a total of ~1350 gph in my display.
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 09:07 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
How high are you pumping with that 9.5 to be only 500 at the output?
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 11:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
That's after it pushes up 3-4' head height, and through a SCWD. My plumbing is only 1"(b/c of SCWD), and Mag recommends 1.5" w/ the 9.5 for maximum performance. All that and I do still have to throttle it back a very little bit. I could probably get another 100-150 gph when/if necessary.
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 11:37 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: new smyrna beach, fl
Posts: 47
Quote:
I just bought a RIO 2100 (692 gal, but 375 at 4ft) do you think this is too much for my tank
I didn't think this was overkill for my tank and based on above it's not. I hooked it up the other day and it nearly pumped the sump dry. The return hose the LFS gave me was a 5/8". The fitting calls for a 3/4". Also the prefilter didn't seem to be able to keep up with the pump. Please tell me what I've done wrong and what I need to change. I know I can use this pump I just don't think I have the right accessories. Thanks!
__________________
jwburleson97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 11:41 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Quote:
Also the prefilter didn't seem to be able to keep up with the pump.
Are you referring to the overflow from the tank?
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 11:41 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
Ohhhhh boy.

Need lots more info. Overflow type, water column hight, pipe sizes, pumps, etc etc.
__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 01:42 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I'm with Marc on this...we need more info on your setup. I'm going ot say that you are using an overflow box and don't have a drilled tank. What kind of Overflow are you using? Do you know how many GPH it is rated at? 300gph, 600gph ect....These are things that we need to know but from what you have said it sounds like you don't have your overflow "started" they siphon I mean. It also could be that you don't have enough total water in your system to accomidate the additional plumbing and sump.
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 01:00 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: new smyrna beach, fl
Posts: 47
Ok, here's the scoop:
Quote:
don't have a drilled tank. What kind of Overflow are you using? Do you know how many GPH it is rated at? 300gph, 600gph
Tank is not drilled. I do have an overflow, but don't know what it is rated. It is a single bulkhead. I bought it at the LFS. It came with the 15 gal sump. Currently I do have it all running using an Aqua Clear 70 for the pump w/ a 5/8" return line. I believe it's a 1 1/2" outgoing line. We ran the line through the walls and put the sump into the adjacent storage closet, so 4ft high and about 2 ft over.
Please let me know what other info you need. Thanks
__________________

__________________
jwburleson97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water turn over question benni Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 09-21-2009 01:48 AM
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 05:54 AM
my water is starting to turn a little murky cichlid555 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 04-02-2005 11:15 PM
It's my turn! deli_conker Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 07-02-2004 12:17 AM
How to figure turn over rate of tank water EMS503 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 07-05-2003 12:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.