Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-28-2009, 11:51 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
prissysmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 69
Week 3 levels....

Hi folks,

Here are my week 3 totals..

Ammonia- .25
Nitrite- .1
Nitrates- 20


Do you think I could have missed my ammonia spike since it's been .25 every week and I was testing once a week?

Is there anything I should be doing (except waiting) for these levels? i.e water changes, adding more shrimp?


Also, I have my quarantine tank ready to go. Would it be ok to add a set of clown fish to it to start their 6 week quarantine? I saw a pair and would like to get them together so they get along
__________________

__________________
Lucy
75g-FOWLR

prissysmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 12:06 PM   #2
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
If your QT is ready to go, why not swipe some of the filter material from there and jump start your cycle? The QT is cycled right? And being fed an ammonia source to keep the bacteria alive?
__________________

__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 12:24 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
prissysmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainAhab View Post
If your QT is ready to go, why not swipe some of the filter material from there and jump start your cycle? The QT is cycled right? And being fed an ammonia source to keep the bacteria alive?
I started the QT 2 weeks ago and have been putting in fish food once a day.
I will test that water to see what it is reading
__________________
Lucy
75g-FOWLR

prissysmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 12:26 PM   #4
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Your QT isn't going to cycle any faster than your main.. IMO your QT is not cycled and ready for fish.

If you are using tap water, the readings you are getting on your main may match pretty closely your water source.
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 02:06 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Jnam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 757
A good way to check, IMO, is to take a nice size chunk of uncooked raw shrimp and toss it in the tank until you read nice amonia reading. I take a NEW nylon and cut the foot out and put the shrimp in there just to keep it from making a mess. Once you see the ammonia spike from the decaying shrimp take it out and over the next few hours test for nitrites only (easiest test in the API kit) if you arent seeing any TRITES above your base readings and the Ammonia is staying pretty high or not going down at all then no you have not cycled yet.

Again this is what I do to test for a cycle, basicly cause a mini cycle and see how quickly it recovers, only do this on a new tank with out fish.
__________________
~Jason

36 BowFront Reef
LED PoweredPlanted 3G Picotope (Build thread)
Jnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 02:46 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
prissysmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jnam View Post
A good way to check, IMO, is to take a nice size chunk of uncooked raw shrimp and toss it in the tank until you read nice amonia reading. I take a NEW nylon and cut the foot out and put the shrimp in there just to keep it from making a mess. Once you see the ammonia spike from the decaying shrimp take it out and over the next few hours test for nitrites only (easiest test in the API kit) if you arent seeing any TRITES above your base readings and the Ammonia is staying pretty high or not going down at all then no you have not cycled yet.

Again this is what I do to test for a cycle, basicly cause a mini cycle and see how quickly it recovers, only do this on a new tank with out fish.

Thanks, I will give this a try. How long do you leave the shrimp in before testing for that ammonia spike?
__________________
Lucy
75g-FOWLR

prissysmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 04:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Jnam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 757
Your nose will tell you LOL, no seriously the shrimp will start to look pretty nasty and if you remove it from the water you will most certainly be able to smell the rotting fish smell. Thats when its nice and gross in there. You could also dose straight ammonia from the hardware store. However most people will over do the amount of Ammmonia and then you are having to do huge PWCs Good luck
__________________

__________________
~Jason

36 BowFront Reef
LED PoweredPlanted 3G Picotope (Build thread)
Jnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Lower Calcium Levels? What can High Levels Cause? xxnonamexx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-11-2005 04:34 PM
I haven't been around much this week... severum mama Aquaria Off-Topic 14 09-19-2005 04:33 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.