Wet & Dry Filter - How does it work ???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

topgundcp

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new in this hobby and just set up my salt water tank(fish only) for about 3 months. My tank set up is as follows:
- 70 gallon tank
- 75 lbs LR
- 80 lbs Live sand
- wet and dry filter
- 210 Watt lighting (50/50)
- 2 damsels
- 2 angels ( a flame and a 3-spot)
- 1 Blue tang
- 3 wrasses ( 2 small and 1 large)
- 1 small yellow tang
- 2 clown fishes
- 1 blenny

Every time I test the water with Salt Water Master liquid test kit
, the result is:
Ammonia = 0
Nitrite = .25
Nitrate = between 20 and 40 since the color are so close I cant
hardly tell

I did make partial water change 3, 4 times ( 15-20 gallons each time) then test the water again next day, the result still the same.

I thought that by making partial water change, the Nitrite and Nitrate levels should be improved but did not.

My question is: I don't know how the Wet and Dry filter works, I read one of the forum and it says the bio balls are Nitrate factory so should I rinse out the bio balls ??? Also, I heard that the water in the sump underneath the bio balls should not be taken out since the benificial bacteria live there,
is it true ???

Please advise.