Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-23-2003, 01:21 AM   #1

What are the steps needed after getting everything?

So since I am moving off campus this semester at college I can get something then a 5gal fish tank and go 20-30gal. I already have a 5gal fresh water with a jack dempsy in it but woudl like to branch into saltwater.

So say after I buy the:
Lights
Heater
Powerheads
Tank
Skimmer (debatable)

What is the process I need to go through from there and how long each step takes? ie: get salt fill your tank with water measure blah blah blah. Please do this from a newbies standpoint for I am new to this. And please add in other stuff I need along the way and keep it cheap as possible.
Old 05-23-2003, 08:45 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via AIM to ReefRaff Send a message via MSN to ReefRaff Send a message via Yahoo to ReefRaff
Quote:
Please do this from a newbies standpoint for I am new to this.
I would not recomend any tank under 50 gallons for you, being a newbie. I would also recomend buying the equipment first, unless you can afford it all at once.

Quote:
So say after I buy the:
Lights
Heater
Powerheads
Tank
Skimmer (debatable)
Adding to the list:
Marine test kit
Hydrometer, or refractometer
10 gallon tank, and Powerheads for qaurantine purposes

There isn't too much of anything thats cheap in this hobby, so be prepared to spend some bucks. You can also find equipment and such on ebay. you could try them. Goood Luck. And Welcome to the addiction.

ReefRaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2003, 10:08 AM   #3