What brand and type of testing kits do you prefer?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheyCallMeButch

Aquarium Advice Regular
Still a bit of a newbie here with salt water aquariums.

I've been using API tests and match the color but I see lots of other people being very exact with their measurements of everything and I'm curious as to what other people are using that I'm not.

I still follow a lot of what I was given and told to do when I first got my tank and I've already corrected and changed certain things and learned a ton since then but I feel like my testing could be better and more precise.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I wouldn't recommend the API test kits for saltwater. They're hard to read and not exact. I would go with either the Red Sea test kits or the Salifert test kits (heard good things but never used Salifert) Titration test kits seem to be a bit more accurate as the levels are determined based on how much of "X" solution you add before it makes a very noticeable change of colour. I find this helpful because you don't have to compare colour shades. You just check the syringe to see how much you've used and check the chart and you know your parameters.

For testing for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate while cycling, API is all you need. When it comes to accurate tests for a reef tank, then red sea, salifert, and hanna checkers are the way to go.

Sounds good. I picked up the Reef Foundation Pro Red Sea today and my Marine Care one has been ordered. Thanks for the help as always!