Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-07-2012, 11:15 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to jumbaaa
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdnelson99

Glancing through this, it appears no one answered one of your original questions so I will. Let's see, several fish were about to be flushed, you jumped through hoops to ready a home for them as best you could, from what I can tell, only one didn't make it......I would say, no, you did a whole lot right.
Thanks. Here is my next question. I am on well water. We use a reverse osmosis filter, so I have been using that. And between when I left for work and when I got home I had the beginnings of an algae bloom. I want to get a cuc but don't have the cash until I get paid. What can I do to keep e fish happy and the algae down ?
__________________

__________________
jumbaaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:40 AM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey
How big is your skimmer area? Thats' key. I can go search a few to give you some ideas.
You ever get a chancce to go take a peek at skimmers? Any input would be great.
__________________

__________________
jwalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:42 AM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by jumbaaa

Thanks. Here is my next question. I am on well water. We use a reverse osmosis filter, so I have been using that. And between when I left for work and when I got home I had the beginnings of an algae bloom. I want to get a cuc but don't have the cash until I get paid. What can I do to keep e fish happy and the algae down ?
Keep the lighting to a minimum. You can even cover the tank with a towel or blanket for a few days to black it out with no adverse effects. The algea will die pretty quickly with no light
__________________
jwalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:00 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to jumbaaa
ok cool. I was also picking up a couple of hermit crabs and snails from my LFS store today.
__________________
jumbaaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 05:16 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 429
Yeah I just picked up a zebra turbo snail and a mexican turbo snail due to a rather large algea out break $10 later problem should be solved in a few days lol you can get a few bigger snails like I did if you want just make sure to feed the algea strips once the tank algea runs out
__________________
jwalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 09:43 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to jumbaaa
I picked up 5 from my lfs.
__________________
jumbaaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 10:24 AM   #37
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
I run well water as well in my tank that I run through a RO/DI unit. I have had minor algae blooms, but they have been controlled minimizing lighting. If I have my 10k's on for to long, due to losing the timer on it, I'll come home from work and have it on my glass. Thankfully, there are days when I just run my actinics, as they still have a timer, and that keeps my corals happy and algae down. Simply scrub it with my magfloat.
__________________
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 02:20 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to jumbaaa
I live in an apartment. Is there a way to set up n rodi system that would fill up the 5 gallon bucket over a couple of hours while I do odds and ends and then dis connect it?
__________________
jumbaaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 02:21 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to jumbaaa
Is there an apartments friendly method for an rodi set up?
__________________
jumbaaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 03:33 PM   #40
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Yeah, i have a coralife 3 stage system that attaches through the faucet.
__________________

__________________
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rio

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new to aquriums frshwaterfish Member Introductions 47 03-15-2012 12:12 AM
How to lose your hair in 29 gallons.My BC 29 build. Convict2161 Nano Reefs 215 03-13-2012 03:19 AM
today we found a random bag of papers in the attic Shark_Bait Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 29 03-13-2012 02:14 AM
What can I do to ensure a smooth adjustment period for the fish i do have jumbaaa Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 40 03-10-2012 04:35 PM
Heater - what temp? AquariumPage Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 03-10-2012 02:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.